Bacon Wrapped Rumaki Recipe

22 Dec
Bacon Wrapped Rumaki

Bacon Wrapped Rumaki

Confession: I’ve never taken a homemade dish to a party. I know this is shocking, but it’s true. So when my sis announced her big party, I immediately remembered my family’s Bacon Wrapped Rumaki dish. Now that I’m a grown up,  and I want to be a polite party guest, I thought I should bring something that didn’t come from a market. My coming out appetizer destiny would be Bacon Wrapped Rumaki.

I remember eating this every holiday with my family – yep, that would be me, hovering around the oven, making polite conversation while secretly securing my position for the bacon wrapped goodness.

This certainly isn’t a health and wellness recipe, but it is worth every calorie! Aside from the bacon cooking time, the prep is really quick. And because this is a crowd favorite, I would strongly suggest making a double batch. 

Bacon Wrapped Rumaki Ingredients

  • 1 lb bacon – cooked until lightly brown
  • 1 – 8 oz can of whole water chestnuts
  • Yellow mustard
  • Brown sugar
  • Chutney (I used mango)

Preparation

Cook the bacon until lightly brown; drain and lay flat. Brush bacon with mustard & sprinkle with brown sugar. Coat the water chestnuts in chutney. Wrap bacon with water chestnuts and secure with a toothpick. Bake for 20 minutes at 400 degrees.

Voila! A quick and totally-worth-every-bite tasty little appetizer to impress your friends and family.

My only advice would be to not eat it all by yourself – it is that good and that tempting!

You Might Also Enjoy:

20 Responses to “Bacon Wrapped Rumaki Recipe”

  1. mynakedbokkie December 22, 2010 at 10:13 pm #

    I must admit- i also tend to take shop bought stuff, that looks homemade! Too scared of the rejection i could face if it ends up awful! We dont get chestnuts here, only the tineed kind, and they are awfully expensive. Any substitutes?
    xx
    http://husbands4hire.wordpress.com

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris December 23, 2010 at 5:56 am #

      Yes – sneaky little bought stuff on a pretty little platter from home – hehehe. As far as the chestnuts, remember, I’m an assembler (not a cook), I wouldn’t know what to do with a fresh chestnut. I used the kind from a can 😉

  2. lindsay December 23, 2010 at 3:51 am #

    I don’t know if I would share this recipe. My hubs and I are bacon lovers! 😉

  3. Kerri O December 23, 2010 at 4:47 am #

    I think I am the only one on earth that doesn’t like bacon, lol.

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris December 23, 2010 at 5:57 am #

      Oh Kerry – I’m almost typeless. I’ve heard of saints of your type, but I don’t think I’ve ever known one personally 😉

  4. KCLAnderson (Karen) December 23, 2010 at 10:26 am #

    Holy Yum!!

    I love really simple, yet impressive recipes! I have one that I’ll share with you 🙂

    In a shallow casserole dish, layer the following:

    EVOO (just so it coats the bottom of the dish)
    Crumbled goat cheese
    Hot red pepper flakes
    Chopped cherry tomatoes
    Chopped arugula

    Serve with sliced baguette or crackers of your choice!

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris December 23, 2010 at 12:49 pm #

      Assemblers of the world unite! And yes, the goat cheese – well – shabang! Thanks so much for stopping by Karen ~

  5. ragemichelle December 23, 2010 at 4:55 pm #

    Oh yes.. I think I’ll make these on Christmas day!!

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris December 23, 2010 at 6:32 pm #

      Hell Yes!
      I ate most of them when I took them to my sister’s – and I don’t regret a single one!
      Have a great weekend or holiday or Christmas or whatever it is you’re having 😉

  6. Karen December 24, 2010 at 9:27 am #

    Sounds like a lot of work! Years ago when I worked in Human Resources our department planned company events and my boss always, always had us put rumaki on the menu.

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris December 24, 2010 at 5:03 pm #

      Oh no sunshine – it’s a piece of cake – and I’m a sissy in the kitchen – so that is the truth!

  7. workingtechmom December 26, 2010 at 11:26 am #

    I kept hoping you were inviting me to the party or dripping by on your way so I could taste a few! Please tell how your sister reacted to your coming out and making something yourself!

    I call it cooking when I make an English muffin in the toaster, or heat something in the microwave. My family calls me a ‘warmer’, but I like your assembler tag also.

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris December 27, 2010 at 8:13 am #

      Well my sis was pretty busy being a lovely hostess, but my deed did not go unnoticed by my mother who oooohed and aaaaawed along with checking my temperature to see if I was well.

      A warmer? LOVE it! I’m a warmer too!

  8. Cherry Woodburn December 27, 2010 at 5:35 pm #

    Now I must get the recipe I made this Thanksgiving. I was at a friend’s and put to work as, you guessed it, an assembler. Everyone raved about the dish I’d made – it used something like bisquick, a can of corn, sour cream and stir. I will ask Diane for the recipe and share. Thanks for yours. Unfortunately both my sons, daughter-in-law and some friends are vegetarians.

    Cherry

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris December 27, 2010 at 8:25 pm #

      I’m sure they raved Cherry – who doesn’t love cornish, creamy, floury goodness? Mmmm – I love assembly with corn (made chili tonight)! My mom made something similar with those boxes of corn bread mix, cheese, creamed corn, ortegas and sour cream – mmmmmmm. Dang. I should have made corn bread with my chili.

  9. Cherry Woodburn December 27, 2010 at 5:36 pm #

    just updated my website address. no new recipe yet.

  10. Todd@PhitZone December 28, 2010 at 11:08 am #

    I have a suspicious feeling that I could not eat just one. 😀

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Healthy Chicken Salad | The Assembler’s Kitchen « The Heart & Humor of Being Human - May 27, 2011

    […] Bacon Wrapped Rumaki […]

Leave a comment