Slow Down | Wise Words by India Arie

25 May

I shuffled across this tune while walking to work, and BAM! I used to dance to this song, so I certainly listened to it many times. But I’ve never HEARD it like I did yesterday morning. I’ve listened to it over and over and have made Slow Down by India Arie my theme song for the week (day? month? forever?).

“Slow down baby, you’re going too fast…”

“Take some time to clear your space, chaos isn’t good for your health….”

“Sometimes you gotta be still before you get ahead….”

Do yourself a favor – slow down long enough to soak up this amazing poem with her brilliant phrasing, rhythm, and melody.

<View Complete Lyrics for Slow Down by India Arie>

Does this resonate with you? Anyone want to join me in slowing down?

6 Responses to “Slow Down | Wise Words by India Arie”

  1. run4joy59 May 25, 2011 at 7:45 am #

    I’d love to join you in slowing down…if only I can figure out how to do it and still get everything done…or maybe that’s the issue…maybe I really don’t have to get everything done…hmm…definite food for thought.

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris May 25, 2011 at 12:48 pm #

      Sometimes I get so busy I can’t think straight – so I’m certainly not being thoughtful or efficient – for sure! And yes – I’ve FINALLY accepted that my todo list will always be 3 pages long and it will never be done 😉

  2. Miz May 27, 2011 at 3:06 am #

    THANK YOU FOR YOUR PATIENCE WITH ME as Ive been a wee bit lifedrowning.

    THAT SAID 🙂 yesterday we (child and I) danced with wild abandon to I am not my hair!!

    we love
    we love.

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris May 27, 2011 at 5:13 am #

      Ah – please don’t lifedrown – ha! Dancing with wild abandon – that’s wonderful! Next step… the jance 😉 xoxoxo

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Buena Vista Social Club: Chan Chan | Music Monday « The Heart & Humor of Being Human - May 30, 2011

    […] Slow Down | Wise Words by India Arie […]

  2. Buena Vista Social Club: Chan Chan | Music Monday - The Heart & Humor of Being Human - June 3, 2011

    […] Slow Down | Wise Words by India Arie […]

Leave a Reply

