Creating Happiness in the Workplace – 5 Pithy Posts

17 Dec
D Sharon Pruitt of Pink Sherbert Photography

Photo Courtesy of D Sharon Pruitt of Pink Sherbert Photography

We spend a lot of time working – so why shouldn’t we create happiness in our workplace? Work does not have to be another four-letter word — we have a lot of control over our physical & mental space. Rather than waiting for “it” to happen, we can create the space where we smile and produce amidst the chaos and deadlines.

These pieces have several common threads that resonate with me: Saying No, Working in Intervals, Getting Your Heart Rate Up, Connecting with Your Tribe, Decluttering, Laughing, Reconciling Our Time and Values….

Life is short – join me in creating some more happiness in the workplace!

  1. 8 Tips for Making Yourself Happier in the Next Hour (Shine) This includes some of my favorites including music and decluttering. And yes, in terms of getting up and moving around, I have been known to do pushups during conference calls 😉
  2. 6 Ways to Refuel Your Energy Every Day (Harvard Business Review) Great article that discusses the 90 minute work intervals. It also encourages downloading stuff from your brain. I’m a big fan of the dump-to-post-it-method 😉
  3. Productivity, It’s All in Your Head (Feelgooder) The theme of this? Do Less! And the amazing nugget?  “Discern the value of your tasks. If it’s of little to no value, why are you doing it?” I’m definitely going to be mindful about this filter next week.
  4. How Trivial Decisions Will Impact Your Happiness (Harvard Business Review)  This article discusses how all the little decisions  all add up and make a big difference in our overall quality of life.
  5. Do You Have Stickers On Your Back? (Working Tech Mom) Don’t worry, no more handy to-do-list-tips here. Just lovely visuals of crazy people with stickers on their back so we can remember to stay clear of them. I have a few likely recipients, but I wonder how many stickers I might have on my back at the end of the day….

Did any of these resonate with you? In the spirit of more, I will bring more music, more quiet, and more mental downloads into my space. How about you?

PS: You may wonder why I posted this on a Friday. Well, I wanted people me to ponder a bit before Monday comes 😉

Related Posts:

Colorful, Helpful & Always Smart (By adding a few of my favorites per post, I’m hoping to get my blogroll in shape soon.)

13 Responses to “Creating Happiness in the Workplace – 5 Pithy Posts”

  1. mynakedbokkie December 17, 2010 at 7:19 am #

    Think it’s awesome that you gave people reading material- from others that you have confirmed good. Enjoying your posts!!! I also think it is a good time of year for everyone to de-clutter…… Never mind the friday.
    X
    http://husbands4hire.wordpress.com

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris December 17, 2010 at 8:21 am #

      Ah thanks! I’m in a major declutter mode – mind, stuff, digital – and it has been lovely! Have a lovely Friday & weekend 😀

    • expressbywords December 18, 2010 at 1:11 am #

      I agree, New year is approaching and this is the right time to ponder a while…n let things be rearranged.

  2. spabettie December 17, 2010 at 10:46 am #

    posting this on a Friday is a WONDERFUL Gift for all of us… we can approach next week armed with all of this greatness!

    also? you are on my blog roll ❤

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris December 17, 2010 at 3:12 pm #

      OMG – I think you’re my first! It’s perfect – for so many reasons…. And yes, we must arm ourselves for the madness – hehehe. Thank you so much Kristina! And congratulations on your FoodPress feature for our Grapefruit Pound Cake – mmmmmm – well deserved!

      >> ck out Spabetties lovely post >> http://spabettie.com/2010/12/16/grapefruit-pound-cake/

  3. workingtechmom December 17, 2010 at 4:24 pm #

    I love the list and will have to think about doing push-ups during a conference call. I have been known to do my nails (when at work on the calls) and do my laundry (when at home on the calls), but never push-ups.

    Thanks for the ping on #5 to my sticker post.

    I’ve added you to my blogroll – enjoy!

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris December 17, 2010 at 6:48 pm #

      I LOVED your sticker post! I worked alone at home today, so I don’t have any stickers on my back 😉 Laundry? Love it! I was in the middle of this project that required weekly, lengthy calls (many of which I just had to listen in to keep people honest, but I didn’t have to engage much). I did clean my floor once. Sometimes I love the ability to work at home.

      Oh gosh – TY for the blogroll! That makes my 1st two today!

      And watch out… I’m following you 😉

  4. managermamma December 18, 2010 at 2:21 pm #

    One usually spends more time in the office than at home so why not make the best of it and get along with one another. A very significant post, brava!

  5. Karen December 20, 2010 at 10:23 am #

    Well, I don’t work, but I can sooo get into the decluttering one! It always makes me happier:) Wish I could get my husband on board.

  6. Kathryn December 22, 2010 at 7:10 am #

    I needed this so much today!! Especially the one from Harvard Business Review about renewing energy. Leave it to the experts to remind us to be nice to ourselves!

  7. run4joy59 December 23, 2010 at 3:21 pm #

    Great blog…lots of info that I intend to use at work…now that I have time to think about how to make my job more pleasant…it’s been hectic (to say the least) the past couple of months, now it’s time to get back to normal (whatever that is)…

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris December 23, 2010 at 4:23 pm #

      Hectic… Believe me I know…. I’m hoping that some time off will allow me to exhale a bit, regain some perspective, and try and create a “new” normal. Thanks so much for stopping by!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 5 Sneaky Productivity Lies « The Heart & Humor of Being Human - December 19, 2010

    […] Creating Happiness in the Workplace – 5 Pithy Posts (Moi) […]

Leave a Reply

