Healthy Chicken Salad | The Assembler’s Kitchen

27 May

Healthy Chicken Salad

I’ve got a thing for fruit and nuts with protein in a main dish – I just think it’s super tasty. This healthy chicken salad is one of my favorite combos on the planet. I buy the nuts chopped and chicken cooked (sometimes even cut up already). Although a knife is required for the onions and fruit, it requires minimal technique. Don’t be too lazy chopping the onion though – having the pieces be too big can kinda ruin this one. (Trust me on that one….) Enjoy this healthy chicken salad on some spinach. Use it in a wrap. Or eat it straight out of the bowl (my personal favorite). I typically eat the whole batch in a day cuz it is good-good-good! 

And since I don’t really cook, but merely assemble ingredients that I like, I can’t tell you the quantities.

Prep, eat, and clean time: 15 minutes <<angels singing>>

Assemble the following:

  • Cooked chicken (cut up, cubed, or whatever)
  • Greek yogurt (a couple of dollops – god I love that word – enough to lightly coat) – Chobani is my fav
  • Diced apples or halved grapes (I have no idea how much)
  • Chopped pecans (or whatever nuts are handy)
  • Red onions (not too much – maybe a couple of slices, cut up in small pieces?)
  • Fresh tarragon (not too much, or some other seasoning from a jar)

I mix the onions, tarragon and yogurt together in a separate bowl to make sure they’re mixed well before adding to the chicken, apples, and nuts. But that’s just me.

If you’re really good, you’ll be eating by the end of this song.

If you liked this, you might also like:

If you want to check out a real cook with amazing photos and tons of healthy food, check out Spabettie. I just adore Kristina – and not just because we have the same name 😉

9 Responses to “Healthy Chicken Salad | The Assembler’s Kitchen”

  1. Amy @ FitMommas May 28, 2011 at 3:37 pm #

    Chicken Salad is my FAVORITE! Thanks so much for a healthy alternative! I’ll have to give it a try and post it on one of my Menu Mondays! Have a great weekend!

  2. Kerri O May 30, 2011 at 6:37 pm #

    This looks yummy! You cook exactly like I do, I can tell you exactly what is in a dish, but not how much…it probably varies each time I make it.

  3. Foodie McBody June 1, 2011 at 12:17 pm #

    Angels singing! Laaaaaaaaaaaaa!!!!!!!! This looks amazing and I am going to make some this week!

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris June 1, 2011 at 5:30 pm #

      Awwww – really? I LOVE assembling yummy stuff and feeling like a gourmet 😉 Assemblers of the world unite!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. We Walked, Played and Ate | My Dad’s Healthy Visit « The Heart & Humor of Being Human - May 29, 2011

    […] Healthy foods with fabulous flavor. Fresh summer squash with pesto. Berries and plain greek yogurt. Healthy chicken salad. Baked lentil […]

  2. Buena Vista Social Club: Chan Chan | Music Monday « The Heart & Humor of Being Human - May 30, 2011

    […] Chicken Salad Prep with James Brown’s Night Train […]

  3. The Best Chicken Salad | Ps of Mine - May 30, 2011

    […] Healthy Chicken Salad | The Assembler’s Kitchen (krismoconnor.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

