We Walked, Played and Ate | My Dad’s Healthy Visit

29 May
Healthy Family Habits

My Dad, Sis, and Me - A "Few" Years Back

I’m my father’s daughter. We have never been the healthy ones of our family. Like him, my tendencies are to watch too much Law and Order, skip breakfast, indulge in sweets, and eat fritos with creamy dips. Me? Well I ended up in the hospital due to chronic dehydration and basically felt crappy all the time. Him? He got the pre-diabetes and cholesterol talk from his doctor and felt crappy all the time. So here we are, in a similar place, wanting to be a bit healthier and feel better by adopting new habits.  [Side Note: My sis and mom have always been healthy. I didn’t get those genes. LOL] 

Me? I’ve changed my habits slowly over the past year using The Power of More philosophy. Him? He eats breakfast every day now and has given up the candy bars and donuts for the last month. I am so proud of him! But he’s missing his snacks and he hasn’t learned to “love” regular movement. (Heck – I haven’t learned to love it either – I’m still in the “act as if” stage.)

So when I found out he was coming down for a few days, I couldn’t wait to begin a new tradition of sharing healthy family habits and sharing a little of what I’ve learned.

  • We walked. To my sister’s house. To a friends house. Just a few blocks here and there.
  • We played. With the nephews. Chasing balls. Throwing balls. Helping them on the fireman’s pole.
  • We shopped. We read labels. He asked questions. I tried to answer.
  • We ate. Healthy foods with fabulous flavor. Fresh summer squash with pesto. Berries and plain greek yogurt. Healthy chicken salad. Baked lentil chips.

By the end of the weekend, he discovered several new foods and great snack options. He wore his sneakers more than his loafers. He knows the difference between a protein and a carb. He’s going home with bags of herbs, healthy snacks, brown rice pasta, and amazing cereals. And he happily reported that he felt better after getting outside and walking a bit!

And me? Well, I’m feeling pretty grateful.

Have you changed old or created new  family health habits?

7 Responses to “We Walked, Played and Ate | My Dad’s Healthy Visit”

  1. Karen@WaistingTime May 30, 2011 at 8:42 am #

    Love this! My mom is uber-healthy. She eats well, most of the time. And works out. Great role model.

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris May 30, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

      So’s my mom – but she didn’t really start that til I was gone – so my sis learned all of that – ha!

  2. Kristina @ spabettie May 30, 2011 at 11:54 am #

    I LOVE this! so happy you had such an awesome visit with your Dad! growing up my mom cooked healthy, carob instead of chocolate and all that… my mom played tennis and that’s where I got my tennis love from, but other than that my family (and later step family additions) were never really active – I pursued those interests myself.

    my step dad loves his fast food, and my mom still makes fabulous healthy food… my dad just surgery last week and his doctor has directed him to eat healthier – so MY new mission is to visit him a couple few times a week and cook for him, teach him – I cannot wait, it will be so fun! 🙂

    also, just a by the way… I found this specific post from poking around here, it didn’t show in my reader feed like the others? hmm. cooking I know, technology? no! 😀

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris May 30, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

      Reader failure? Hmmmm – I must explore – but thanks for poking! Gosh – I’m just stunned that we’re doing the same thing with our dads! I hope he’s recovering nicely and he’s SO LUCKY to have you1 My dad will learn how to add spinach to things, cuz that’s really my expertise 😉 xoxo

      • Kristina @ spabettie May 31, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

        yes – spinach or cashews are my “foundations” 🙂 I’m excited because my dad sometimes reads my blog, and he is OPEN to it – we are having fun!

        yep, just another Twin Thang. 😉 my best to your dad – and you!

  3. Coco May 30, 2011 at 4:59 pm #

    What a great weekend! I love the picture too – I think my dad had a similar mustache back in the day! My son has officially rebelled against all things healthy – except he’s hooked on smoothies made with frozen fruit and yogurt.

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris May 30, 2011 at 7:38 pm #

      Gotta love the 70’s stache… those were the days 😀 I’m glad your boy is drinking smoothies – mine is a carboholic – that was actually cool when he left cuz I dumped the cupboards LOL Rumor has it he’s eating better – hmmmmm – sooo curious!

Leave a Reply

