8 Grain Muffins – Yummy and Tasty! #foodthanks

24 Nov

Tasty nutty goodness with whole grain oats, brown rice, corn, soybeans, millet, barley, oat bran, sunflower seeds & flaxseed

I can’t remember the last time I baked anything requiring baking soda. I pride myself on being an average “assembler” and since baking is chemistry and requires precise measurement, I’ve never really been a baker. But it’s cold out and I’m getting sucked into it by all the lovely posts and pics from my friends. (Thank you all, I think!) But I’m also trying to eat healthier, so I wanted to try something besides my great grandma’s Teaball recipe.

I picked up a package of Bob’s Red Mill 8 Grain Hot Cereal because it looked yummy and had a Muffin Recipeο»Ώ on the package. It has 8 whole grains for goodness sake – that’s healthy!

Knowing the danger involved, but feeling CONFIDENT (due to the kind support of Spabettie (Kristina) & VinoLuci (Barb), I decided to modify it a bit using yogurt, maple syrup, apples & nuts. But yes, I was also feeling nervous about modifying given the chemistry nature of this project.

I enlisted the help of my 18 month old nephew, properly slung a towel over his shoulder, turned on James Taylor, and went to work.Β Β 

My Tasty Little 8 Grain Muffins

Result?

  • They’re delicious!
  • They’re not too sweet, but just sweet enough!
  • The consistency is PERFECT!
  • I could have probably done all yogurt (1 1/4 cup), but I added the half-and-half cuz I was nervous
  • 9 of the 12 of them came out of the tin EASILY!
  • The 8 Grain is nutty, tasty goodness!
  • I could have probably done all maple syrup (1/2 cup), but again, I was nervous about the consistency
  • My son ate two πŸ˜‰

8 Grain Muffins ala Kris!

Ingredients

  • 1 c Bob’s Red Mill
  • 1 cup greek yogurt
  • 1/4 cup half and half (in hindsight, I could have used ALL yogurt)
  • 1/3 cup butter
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/2 cup chopped apples
  • 1 cup chopped nuts (could use more πŸ˜‰ )

Directions

  • Mix Bob’s Red Mill 8 Grain Hot cereal with yogurt & half-and-half and let set for 10 minutes.
  • Cream butter, egg, maple syrup & brown sugar
  • Mix remaining dry ingredients (flour, salt, baking soda, baking powder)
  • Combine each mixture, but don’t over mix
  • Add apples & nuts
  • Bake for 15 minutes at 400 degrees in well oiled muffin tin

I can’t believe I just modified a baking recipe and it worked! Special thanks to my assistants and testers.

Chase - My Muffin Assistant - With a Properly Slung Kitchen Towel

Michael and His SECOND Muffin

Me and My Muffins - So to Speak - Looking Oh-So-Proud!

Related Posts:

14 Responses to “8 Grain Muffins – Yummy and Tasty! #foodthanks”

  1. spabettie November 24, 2010 at 10:45 pm #

    oh, Kris, my friend, I am so happy you did this and They Look Awesome!! πŸ˜€

    so… as far as baking… What’s NEXT ??!!!? πŸ˜‰

    HAPPY THANKSGIVING !! ❀

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris November 25, 2010 at 6:39 am #

      Thank you Kristina! And thank you for nudging me along in trying something new – I just LURVE my new friends and all their support & encouragement. Next? Who knows! Have a lovely, lovely holiday – wishing you some spa time for yourself!

  2. tj November 25, 2010 at 6:59 am #

    I love BOB’s cereal and these muffins look great! πŸ™‚ Love the lil helper Chase! Adorable! Thanks for sharing this recipe! πŸ™‚

  3. Kathy H November 25, 2010 at 10:15 am #

    I’m looking fwd to trying it. Just bought all the ingredients. Thx!

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris November 25, 2010 at 11:34 am #

      Wow seriously? I’m so excited for you! Please let me know how they turn out… I had two more this morning – mmmmmm!

  4. Sarah November 25, 2010 at 3:42 pm #

    I know this post is about muffins, but I love that scarf!

  5. Suzanne @WorkoutNirvana November 25, 2010 at 4:22 pm #

    Look how trim and cute you are! I can see your delts popping out of your shirt! And yes, love the scarf, I was just thinking of taking the scarf plunge. The muffins, thanks for modifying and I will try them!

  6. Tracy @ Commit To Fit November 25, 2010 at 5:34 pm #

    They look fantastic! I look forward to trying them on my next baking adventure πŸ™‚

  7. Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris November 25, 2010 at 7:36 pm #

    @Suzanne & Sarah – Why thank you! Yes… I’m a scarf girl – even in balmy California! It’s been nippy this week – so I’ve needed it. It is ALL about the scarf πŸ˜‰

    @Tracy – Thanks so much for stopping by! I was just giddy that the subs worked – uh, since I don’t bake – it was a risk! But totally worth it & tasty.

  8. lindsay November 27, 2010 at 6:59 pm #

    wow, those look wonderful. I alwasy wanted to try that hot cereal. I’ll have to use bob Mills GF flour and try these out ASAP!
    thanks!
    LC

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris November 28, 2010 at 7:30 am #

      Thanks Lindsay for stopping by – the cereal was great – it had this nutty/crunchy/wholesome thing about it, so I would definitely recommend. Last night I used it for the crumble over a cranberry crisp – delish! Thanks again – Kris

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Review of Bob’s Red Mill 8 Grain Hot Cereal « The Heart & Humor of Being Human - November 26, 2010

    […] View My Post with the Recipe & Pics […]

  2. Bacon Wrapped Rumaki Recipe « The Heart & Humor of Being Human - December 22, 2010

    […] My Baking Adventure – 8 Grain Muffins […]

  3. Healthy Coffee Cake Recipe | Bob’s Red Mill 8-Grain Cereal « The Heart & Humor of Being Human - January 1, 2011

    […] 8 Grain Muffins […]

Leave a Reply

