The Confessions of a Reluctant Exerciser

3 Jun

X Files AlienOn a gloomy December afternoon, Michelle (@ragemichelle) and I crossed paths in the twitter stream. She was sick in the body. I was sick in the head. We were two peas in a pod and it was WONDERFUL to not be alone in our grumpiness!  We swore. We mocked ourselves. We griped. And we giggled… a lot. I joined her rage on her What I Learned from Fox Muldar  post where she confessed watching 30 or so X-File episodes and fretting about not working out.  I related to her plight. Of course, she had an excuse; she was sick! Me? I’m too lazy to put on my shoes. I confessed being a reluctant exerciser.

Below is my comment on her raging post:

OK – Just to be clear. I have tricked a few into thinking that I’m optimistic and really love working out….

But, just for the record, The BEFORE SUCKS BAD! THE DURING SUCKS TOO! And most times, the AFTER is miserable!

I am NOT an natural exerciser – every single minute – before, during and after – requires some sort of alien given power that somehow gets me off my ass. On my own – I’m a couch potato. It’s just that simple. So the only thing I can attribute this new found exercise phase is some sort of alien abduction.

  • I don’t get a runners high (which is why I don’t run).
  • I’m terribly uncoordinated and never played sports.
  • I’m prone to mortifying incidents (I fainted during rush hour at the gym in front of the smith machine).
  • I have the energy of a napping cat.
  • I don’t like ANY discomfort.
  • I’m basically a sissy.

Which is why I have toys (medicine ball, jump rope, swiss ball, kettlebell, blah blah blah). They save me from my ADD crazy let me pretend that I’m tough. I use the toys to fake my cardio and tell myself  I can do ANYTHING for a minute.

And that’s how I do my cardio babe…. 5 exercises – 1 minute at a time for each set – 3 sets – and BAM – I’m done in 20 😉

ShaBang!

Our girl crush continues, and I’ll be forever grateful to her for making my day.

If you haven’t met Michelle (Rage Your Way Thin), go meet her now! Follow @ragemichelle on twitter – she tells it like it is and celebrate all that is human.

Has your social media tribe ever saved your bacon?

And if you liked this, you might like My Tripping Down the Fitness Path.

7 Responses to “The Confessions of a Reluctant Exerciser”

  1. ragemichelle June 3, 2011 at 7:18 am #

    I LOVE this. And it’s a very VERY good reminder. As I have been sick in the since yesterday (VERY bad day at work) I freaking went out and ate a crap ton of mexican food instead of working out.

    And now we are beating ourselves up.

    What a good reminder. I can’t undo what I did. Beating myself up gains me NOTHING. All I can do is keep moving forward.

    It’s people like you that truly help keep me going.

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris June 3, 2011 at 7:27 am #

      LOVE YOU!!!! love tacos – love the couch – love to swear – love coffee – love to loaf – BUT I’m so loving the little miraculous shifts too – sooo little – but the so count. Hugs!

  2. run4joy59 June 3, 2011 at 8:32 am #

    you know, I actually like working out, once I start doing it…I do get the runner’s (or dancer’s) high…I love the feel of my muscles working, I love how I feel when it’s over and I’ve accomplished what I set out to do….soooooo….why in heaven’s name don’t I do it consistently? what is that all about? sheesh, it’s easier to just not start, but that’s not what’s best for me…just gotta do it!! I heard somebody say that we tend to have a problem telling ourselves “no”, maybe my problem is telling myself “go”…

  3. deb roby June 3, 2011 at 9:08 am #

    LOVE.THIS.

    In my natural state, I, too, am a discomforting hating couch potato with no inclination toward exercise. Someone a few years ago I got tricked through friendship and guilt into becoming a regular exercise machine.

    Now -post injury-I feel lost and sad and don’t know if I can find my way back to that place I found. Never considered tricks but may have to put them in the bag and give them a try, too.

  4. KCLAnderson (Karen) June 3, 2011 at 9:50 am #

    I don’t get a runners high (which is why I don’t run)….check.

    I’m terribly uncoordinated and never played sports…..check

    I’m prone to mortifying incidents (I fainted during rush hour at the gym in front of the smith machine)….well…this didn’t happen to me but I can imagine it happening!

    I have the energy of a napping cat….check

    I don’t like ANY discomfort….double check!!

    I’m basically a sissy….yep…check!

    I am SO with you on fast and efficient!

  5. Dawn June 3, 2011 at 10:51 am #

    I have all checks for that list too lol.

  6. Karen@WaistingTime June 3, 2011 at 2:07 pm #

    Love it! Can sooooo relate. Coincidentally I just left a comment on a blog that talked about how my motivation for exercise is something I struggle with every day but how I am always glad I’ve done it when it’s over:)

Leave a Reply

