My Unexpected Holiday Treat

28 Dec

While many folks look forward to travel and cookies, I was looking forward to EXERCISE! This year I’ve learned that exercise is one of the most important ingredients for my sanity and well being. And between the rain, work, my cold, and stitches (I had a mole removed – all tests negative TYVM), I haven’t been working out hard, and I lost quite a bit of strength and cardio endurance (and sanity). Not that I don’t count my wogging excursions and dates with the elliptical (they TOTALLY count), but there is great value in dripping-sweat-kick-ass-workouts.

So, just for today, I will press, twist, squat, and jump. I’m happy to say that despite wanting to quit at minutes 5, 10 & 15, I persevered for 40 minutes. I’m hoping that by building my strength after a few more workouts that I’ll be past quitter mode. (But I’ve always been a mental sissy re: exercise, so I’m not counting on it).

I took it easy and listened to my body, rested more than I would have liked to, and stayed on the horse for all 3 sets. I didn’t have it in me to get dressed and head out to the gym, so I stayed home and worked out in my jammies 😉 This little routine only requires dumbbells and some music. (Blood Sweat & Tears – Lucretia Macevil – got me going today!)

Warm Up (5 Sets of 10)

  • Sit ups
  • Body weight squats
  • Modified pushups

Workout (3 sets total)

  • Squat + bicep curl + shoulder press (1 min)
  • Body weight tricep dips (15 reps)
  • Lateral lunges with weight (1 min)
  • Bent over rows (in lunge position) (15 reps per side)
  • Sit up with pull over + chest press (15 reps)
  • Pushup to side plank (10 per side)

Closer

  • 8 sets of 25 jumping jacks

My other vacation treats?

  • Lovely new aprons courtesy of The Hip Hostess (pics to come)
  • A yummy pot of chili
  • New running shoes (I’m not a runner, but I still deserve them)
  • Some bold kitchen experiments requiring recipes (and pretty aprons)
  • Naps
  • Off line time
  • Movies
  • Time with my nephews and son

What’s your holiday or vacation treat?

Related Posts:

My Evolving Blogroll (Little by little, I’ll have one!):

26 Responses to “My Unexpected Holiday Treat”

  1. Lisa December 28, 2010 at 12:27 pm #

    I was able to enjoy my workouts during the holiday weekend without much difference so that was good!

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris December 28, 2010 at 12:46 pm #

      Outstanding Lisa – good for you! I’m not terribly off track, but just straddling it a bit LOL

  2. Cherry Woodburn December 28, 2010 at 1:34 pm #

    Kris,

    That sounds like a sweat-braking workout for sure. 8 sets of 25 jumping jacks after all that other stuff. I’m impressed, especially since you were pushing yourself (not in a class).
    What are bent over rows and push up to side plank? Side planks to me are 1 arm – are you pushing up on 1 arm?

    Cherry

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris December 28, 2010 at 4:03 pm #

      Aw Cherry – you are so sweet! I do forget sometimes that considering I used to get zero minutes of movement that this counts (especially on my own!).

      I do my bent over rows from a forward lunge position – and with the arm that is opposite of my front leg, I do a dumbbell row. Yes, push up to side plank = pushup and on the “movement” rotate the torso to get in a side plank position w free arm straight to ceiling. I LOVE (sort of) those…

      Thanks again – K

  3. Karen December 28, 2010 at 2:07 pm #

    Oh I get this – I have been slacking in the exercise department. Yes, I do the elliptical. But it is not nearly the workout that I get from cycling. I got P90X for Christmas and am eager and dreading getting started.

    So, since we have teens about the same age, you may get a kick out of our own little mole removal story. I took my sons to the derm yesterday for checks. (I had melanoma so they are at risk.) The doctor did something that no doctor has ever done before – took one off my son then and there! He was so funny. Mommmmm! You didn’t tell me, yada yada. What are you going to get me, yada yada. And on the way out he reminded me he is now 18 so could have actually refused! Cracked me up.

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris December 28, 2010 at 4:05 pm #

      Oh Karen! That is soooooo funny! Sort of my boy when he was 8 whimpering on the plane, “Mom, all my friends are going to Disneyland for Spring break. Why are we going to Guatemala?”

      Hehehehe Hahahahaha

      Oh gosh – what is that P90X thing? Everyone is talking about it, and I’m so uncool I don’t even know what it is….

  4. lindsay December 28, 2010 at 2:23 pm #

    oh lovely! My holiday treat would be enjoying a glass or two of wine and sleeping an extra hour. Well deserved! Love the new shoes.

  5. Suzanne @WorkoutNirvana December 28, 2010 at 4:55 pm #

    Good job love. I am so glad to hear you had a nice holiday. Looks like a great workout as well, nice full-body. I haven’t worked out in my jammies in years, how fun!

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris December 28, 2010 at 7:52 pm #

      Sometimes I don’t have it in me to make the big 2 mile drive to the gym LOL I’m on vacation!

  6. run4joy59 December 28, 2010 at 5:22 pm #

    Congrats for getting right back with the exercise…I’m with you…exercise is better than antidepressants…lol!!

    Love all these stories about the kids…don’t they just say the funniest things?!

    I’ve really managed to get back to eating healthy this week…figured I might as well get a jump start on the new year!!

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris December 28, 2010 at 7:53 pm #

      Amen Sistah! So glad to hear about your eating – for me, I just feel better when I do. I’m slurping up a bowl of chili as we speak – mmmmmmm. TY!

  7. spabettie December 28, 2010 at 10:42 pm #

    I received MY apron too!! 🙂 baked my cheesecake in it the other day, and the tamales! it’s very fun.

    I have been totally off my schedule for EVERYTHING, since Jason is off work until next year (woo!) so we’ve had a few weeks to play. I ran on the treadmill this morning, but I’m kinda looking forward to next week… that will be back to normal for me.

    🙂

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris December 28, 2010 at 10:58 pm #

      Oooh a treadmill! You are good- good-good! I’m so glad you got your apron – pretty pics please? And the tamale post was amazing! I’m so desperate to take a pic of mine that I might wear it to the coffee shop to have a stranger take a pic (still figuring out the right outfit to go with it tho – I may need a cute pair of flats) – ha! 😀

  8. mynakedbokkie December 29, 2010 at 5:47 am #

    Shoo wee- excercise not a treat in my little world. In fact, this morning when my knight suggested that he go for a jog, and me and princess get on our bikes and meet him half way…..she stated “no, i am too tired”… we had a laugh since she had literally been up for 30 minutes. (Clearly not a treat in her head either). Now if we make it all about playing and not excercise- different story….honestly though, going to take me soem time to get back into a routine. This whole holiday has been so relaxing.
    My treat- being able to sit in the middle of no where, on our patio and have complete silence. All day long.
    Enjoyed your post.
    xx

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris December 29, 2010 at 12:34 pm #

      Complete silence? That sounds lovely…. I may have to find some… And yes, little and big ones should play more and “workout” less. I’m just not sure what to play!

  9. workingtechmom December 29, 2010 at 12:47 pm #

    You go girl. Love the shoes, and reading about your exercise as I sit here NOT doing that. 🙂

    This week is one of rest and reflection for me. Next week, will be back in the swing of it full force.

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris December 29, 2010 at 2:31 pm #

      It is VERY strange that I was longing for exercise over the break…. Believe me! It’s like I’ve been body snatched by aliens. I’ve been cooking too (enter twilight zone creepy music).

  10. Shelly Kramer December 29, 2010 at 1:01 pm #

    Excellent job, Crazy Woman!!! Am very proud of you. Keep it up!!!

    Shelly
    @shellykramer

  11. thebettylife December 29, 2010 at 9:04 pm #

    Hi Kris! Lost your blog for a while, so have added it onto my subscriptions now. Hope you had a great Christmas, I too got a new pair of running shoes as a present. Healthy gifts are always the best ones. Have a good one! Naps and movies sounds like an ideal holiday. Betty x

  12. Miz December 30, 2010 at 2:36 am #

    that is SO the biggest coup for me too.
    when I can add the DESPITE WANTING TO QUIT phrase in there.

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris December 30, 2010 at 10:37 am #

      I wish it weren’t that way for me – but it still is. I “think” I’m a slow-warmer-upper – like, it takes 20-30 minutes to not HATE working out. After that, I can go on for hours – but getting past that point, I still have to say, “I won’t quit yet…” Sigh….

  13. Dane Findley December 30, 2010 at 11:29 am #

    How great (and effective) that you “closed” with 8 sets of jumping jacks! Wow, that sounds intense, and you’re inspiring me to make it to the gym today. I find exercise is great for my brain chemistry. I love that feeling when a sweaty workout is all finished, and now it’s time to eat! 😉

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris December 30, 2010 at 11:34 am #

      Thanks Dane! Yes – I’m learning that sweat time is as important as “no email” time in terms of my attitude & productivity. Go figure… They didn’t teach that to us in school, eh? So nice to meet you 😀

  14. Dane February 8, 2011 at 7:00 pm #

    My post holiday treat is getting back to the gym regularly. Was tough to do during the Christmas season this year for some reason.

    My other holiday treat that I recently started was peanut butter on a whole wheat english muffin for breakfast. 🙂

    I like your workout by the way. Full body workouts are definitely the best way to go to get more bang for your buck when it comes to your workouts. In addition to your jumping jacks, add in some interval training for cardio and you’re golden.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention My Unexpected Holiday Treat « The Heart & Humor of Being Human -- Topsy.com - December 28, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Kris M O'Connor, Kris M O'Connor. Kris M O'Connor said: New Post: My Unexpected Holiday Treat: While many folks look forward to travel and cookies, I was looki… http://bit.ly/fNvCE7 #fitblog […]

Leave a Reply

