Happy 18th Birthday Michael | Music Monday

6 Jun

Where were you in 1993? Well, I became a mother on June 6th, so today is Michael’s 18th birthday! It was a beautiful day – and everyone was in town because I was scheduled to be induced on June 7th. The contractions started, and being me, I ran several errands, returned a borrowed vacuum cleaner, returned my graded papers to Cal Poly, and scrubbed the baseboards. My dad got to my house early afternoon, and Pat (Michael’s dad), dad and I hung out on the patio. They contemplated ordering a pizza – I passed on that offer. Finally, the time came to go to the hospital, and it was just like that episode in “I Love Lucy” where Ethel, Fred, and Ricky ran around like crazy people and nearly forgot Lucy. After a somewhat eventful labor and delivery, Michael was born at 11:33 pm.

Michael and I share a love for music, so it only seems fitting to do a musical flash back to 1993.

We had this very sweet song from Janet Jackson. Her album was SUPER HOT in 1993.

The Bodyguard was huge and topped the charts most of the year.

Eric Clapton’s classic MTV Unplugged came out. This was the beginning of the Unplugged era – and we were all blown away by the acoustic versions of the old classics (Layla).

Finally, the Number 1 song on June 6, 1993 was “Can’t Help Falling In Love” by UB40.


So fitting for your welcome to the world! Happy Birthday Michael – I love you!

Leave a Reply

