Join Us for the First Workout Swap of 2011

4 Jan

When was the last time you REALLY mixed up your workouts?  That’s the concept behind what has become a monthly workout swap with Suzanne @WorkoutNirvana. By mixing it up, we can break through plateaus and challenge our cardiovascular and muscular health in new ways.

According to Livestrong, “Repeating the same routine week after week will cause your weight loss and results to stagger and your workouts may become flatlined. Instead of sticking to a few basic exercises in your routine consider adding a variety of exercises that work your muscles from different angles and in different sequences. ”

I’m so grateful to Suzanne (Workout Nirvana) for being my digital workout buddy for the workout swap fun. We each design routines (based on our norm), test and post them,  do the other’s routines, and post a recap. We’ve both learned that even though we’re pretty darn fit, the workout swaps get us out of our comfort zones and challenge us in new ways.

It’s great for me because I’m accountable to follow through and give her amazing workouts a college try (yep, I take my notes and all). That said, we both have loads of permission to modify based on how we’re feeling.

View Suzanne’s Yowza Workout for Me

Sonjia’s Cross Fit Workout

The timing was perfect for this workout swap because I finally enthusiastically tried Sonjia’s Cross Fit class  this morning. (Translation: I didn’t have to create a workout on my own.) I’ve been known to do these kind of workouts with her during a training session, but I’ve been skeptical terrified to try them in public because I’m a sissy pick-my-own-pace kind of gal.

So if you’re “comfortable” with jogging, zumba’ing, stair stepping, or bench pressing, give this workout a try. This routine took about an hour. I did it today with Sonjia and modified at the beginning (step ups instead of box jumps) because I’m a slow warmer upper. I’m happy to say I finished strong.  Enjoy!

Warm Up: 5 sets x 10 reps each

  • Body weight squats
  • Push ups
  • Pull ups (assisted)
  • Sit ups
  • Shoulder press (uber low weight)

Pick Your Poison Workout

The idea of this workout is to do the first exercise and follow with a  BASE set (see below).  Then move on to the second exercise and repeat the BASE set. This continues until you get through all 5 exercises.

  1. Run or Jump: Jog 800M OR Jump rope (5 min) + BASE (see below)
  2. Top or Bottom: 30 Tricep Dips OR 50 Bodyweight Squats + BASE
  3. Push or Pull: 50 Pushups OR 25 Pullups (assisted) + BASE
  4. Up or Down: 50 Squat Jumps OR 25 Burpees + BASE
  5. Front or Back: 30 Back Extensions OR 60 Bicycles + BASE

Base Set

Do a set of these in between each exercise above.

  • 15 Kettle Bell Swings
  • 15 Squat + Shoulder Press
  • 15 Sit Ups
  • 15 Box Jumps

Ab Closer

  • 20 second plank + 10 second rest
  • 20 second bicycle + 10 second rest
  • Repeat for 8 minutes (don’t blame me, I didn’t make this up)

Cool Down

Need I say more?

In Case You’re Interested in the Workout Swap Evoluation

So we’re all resolved to get stronger and healthier – care to join us for a workout swap?

15 Responses to “Join Us for the First Workout Swap of 2011”

  1. Suzanne @WorkoutNirvana January 4, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

    It looks soooo fun Kris! The “base” set is the crazy killer part, I can see that already (gulp). I love it though – it’s challenging and that’s what I want. Honestly, the squat jumps scare me – am I coordinated enough to make it up every time?? Oh, you’re so kind – I can do burpees instead? Ha! No worries, I’m up to the challenge. Thanks once more for helping me challenge myself in grand new ways :).

    • Cherry Woodburn January 5, 2011 at 3:56 am #

      YOu’re masochists, but very fit mashochists. Ok, I need a swap that I can do at home with no equipment and exercises that I know what they are – kettle bell swings? Cherry

  2. mynakedbokkie January 5, 2011 at 5:14 am #

    I am just proud to be abl eto walk after two days in a row on teh treadmill. Perhaps when i can get my breathing stabilised, i will be a little more enthusiastic! HAHA!
    xx

  3. Kerri O January 5, 2011 at 7:39 am #

    What a cool idea!

  4. ragemichelle January 23, 2011 at 5:25 pm #

    Wow, this is both intimidating and inspiring. Probably a couple other ‘I’ words as well. 🙂

  5. Kate March 10, 2011 at 6:31 am #

    I have been needing to spice up my interval training sessions. Thanks for giving me some ideas.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Yow! Killer Workout Swap 3 | Workout Nirvana - January 4, 2011

    […] started here! Don’t forget to check out the workout Kris created for our workout swap! Thank you, Kris for challenging me in ways I never would’ve […]

  2. Workout Swap 3: The Goods | Workout Nirvana - January 4, 2011

    […] workout swap with Kris O’Connor. See my notes about this workout, including superset tips. See Kris’ workout for me here. Remember, you can easily print this workout by using the Print button […]

  3. Tweets that mention Join Us for the First Workout Swap of 2011 « The Heart & Humor of Being Human -- Topsy.com - January 4, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Joyce Cherrier, Suzanne and others. Suzanne said: Yow! Killer Workout Swap 3 http://bit.ly/e8Z6bu and http://bit.ly/eZ24nw #fitblog #workoutswap #weights #mamavation […]

  4. Join Us for the First Workout Swap of 2011 « The Heart & Humor of … | Workouts Blog - January 5, 2011

    […] Read more from the original source: […]

  5. Cross Fit Fun: Recap of Workout Swap 3 | Workout Nirvana - January 8, 2011

    […] Kris’s workout for me, which I’m recapping here. […]

  6. It Wasn’t Pretty, But It Counts: My Modified CrossFit Class « The Heart & Humor of Being Human - May 2, 2011

    […] + strength training routine that also tests your stamina. If you like this, you might like an old workout swap I did with Suzanne from Workout […]

Leave a comment