Cookie Recipe Makeover Disaster aka New Camera Practice Session

2 Jan

I had high hopes for a cookie recipe makeover. In the end, I’m not doing the happy dance about the cookies, but I am happy to practice with my new camera (Canon EOS Rebel T1i). I had visions of my grandma’s tea balls but with healthy ingredients (whole grains, almond flour, applesauce, etc.). I divvied the recipe into quarters and tried different variations.  Granted, my math might have been wrong, but I’m guessing that going astray had to do with not using “regular” flour LOL. That said, some of them tasted very good – I think I might be on to something.

Try #1 totally flattened to mush and was NOT what I had in mind (but really had the best flavor). By try #4, they were certainly “balls”, but they were not tasting like I had in mind (uh – a bit TOOO grainy).  Not all was lost,  at least I could practice with my new camera with some light.

I’m pretty pleased about the pictures. I think once I learn how to focus, compose, light, and present, I’ll be golden. 😀

From left to right, Try #1, Try #4, & Try #4 with sugar 😉

I

Just a few cookies - holding very still for the camera....

Learning the zoom & knowing that I will need a tripod. Geesh - I'm very shaky!

Loving my new Hip Hostess apron - it is a lovely subject, eh? Very proud of the artistic touch on this one **winks**

What’s your best advice for trying to bake with healthy ingredients?

Real Bakers:

Related Posts:

18 Responses to “Cookie Recipe Makeover Disaster aka New Camera Practice Session”

  1. ragemichelle January 2, 2011 at 4:08 pm #

    Oh Gosh, healthy ingredients? It would be easiest to just pretend I don’t speak your language. Smart thing though (and I AM a smart girl) is to pay attention and start using more healthy ingredients.

    I think your cookies look wonderful! And even if they are a little grainy, who cares?? A cookie is a cookie. 🙂

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris January 5, 2011 at 6:13 am #

      You ARE a smart girl! It’s funny, because after all that, I finished the cookies. Some of them tasted damn good! I am not a naturally-inclined-I-love-to-cook kind of gal. It wasn’t that long ago that I ate out ALL the time. So I started slowly. First I was eating frozen dinners, then I ate frozen veggies w frozen chicken (that’s still my go to). But I have discovered a few herbs, occasionally sport a knife, and yes the baking bug has bitten. Go figure!

  2. spabettie January 2, 2011 at 4:10 pm #

    I am still learning different flours… baking gluten free, it isn’t always a straight up SUB at the regular measurement… it gets different. very confusing, this science of baking!

    I love the apron I picked too… GREAT thinking using it as a backdrop! 😀 Have fun with the camera!!

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris January 5, 2011 at 6:02 am #

      Ah thanks Kristina! You know you inspire me – you make adventures in the kitchen look like so much fun! I can now see that the sub thing can be tricky…. And despite the almost disaster, I learned some stuff. I still love my 8 grain cereal. I love the almond flour – brilliant! I love brown sugar more than white sugar. And I still have a lot to learn – ha!

  3. Foodie McBody January 2, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

    Congrats on the new camera! That is so exciting!! I think I really need to get a tripod, too. But I can understand the tea balls not working out – with the exception of maybe adding whole wheat flour, the hallmark of those things is BUTTER! But were they sort of yummy anyway?

    I think healthy ingredients can only work if there are lots of OTHER ingredients, and they can be hidden or masked. Things like brownies have lots of ingredients so if you sub applesauce or black bean puree (yeah!) for butter, it actually WORKS. You can hide stuff in soups and meatloaf and things that are already complex. But tea cookies- and shortbread – those are cookies for purists.

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris January 5, 2011 at 6:00 am #

      Yes – After I posted this I realized how silly some of this was – who am I to mess with butter, sugar and flour perfection? hehehe And yes on the tripod! I’m a shaky little gal – heheheh

  4. lindsay January 2, 2011 at 6:16 pm #

    oh yea, the new apron is gorgeous and goes so well with your camera. 😉

  5. mynakedbokkie January 3, 2011 at 2:52 am #

    You need to not just assemble, but actually measure! HAHA. Only joking…… Love the photo’s. Makes me jealous! I want an awesome camera like that. ON a different note, i have been told that it is not necessarily a good thing to just divide recipes. I dont see the problem, but perhaps it is?
    Have an awesome start!
    xx

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris January 5, 2011 at 5:54 am #

      Oh for sure! Not sure if the baking thing is for me, because of the measuring thing. I’m really fond of the sprinkle & dollop approach. Yes baking is chemistry, it may be a bit more precise than I have patience for, but I’m on vacation, so what the heck!

  6. Cherry Woodburn January 3, 2011 at 3:14 am #

    The pictures definitely look good. Taste, well I have to take your word for it.

    You may be an assembler but you are also an adventurer. You try your own measurements – or lack thereof – try new, healthier ingredients. I think that’s quite special. Cherry

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris January 5, 2011 at 5:53 am #

      Thanks Cherry – it’s funny, cuz I’m typically a disaster in the kitchen, so that’s one of the funny, ironic things about this. My BF sort of gives me these quizzical looks… he thinks that I’ve been body snatched or something.

  7. Karen January 3, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

    Look at you with these fancy photos, backgrounds and all:) Talented!

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris January 5, 2011 at 5:51 am #

      Oh Karen – you are a doll! I think this camera thing might be fun for sure – and yes, the hip hostess apron is uber lovely – can’t wait for edible things to shoot 😀

  8. Aaron January 3, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

    New Canon! Nice! If those pics are your first attempts you’re doing very well Kris! And the cookies look great as well! Just curious, what type of lens are you using?

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris January 5, 2011 at 5:50 am #

      Hey Aaron! Thanks so much for stopping by and for your kind words! I have no idea what the lens is – its the one that came with the T1i if that helps. I can see how one could get into all sorts of gadgets, I’ve already been thinking about a zoom lens LOL. But first, I’m thinking I should learn how to focus 😀

  9. Suzanne @WorkoutNirvana January 4, 2011 at 7:15 am #

    Ooo, I can’t WAIT to get my Cannon! This cookie fiasco reminds me of the homemade protein bars I tried. The “prep” pictures were super, but the final result was a disaster! They wouldn’t even stay together, boo. At least yours looks delightful on the outside!

Leave a Reply

