Lessons Learned and Unexpected Treats at #Fitbloggin

23 May

My Roomies @foodiemcbody and @kclanderson - I'm the luckiest girl in the world!

I decided on Monday and flew out on Wednesday to attend #Fitbloggin – so I didn’t have much time to prepare or fret. I really had no idea what to expect, but I knew I wanted to meet my tweeps in real life. The people were definitely the best part, but the Intuitive Eating panel, Attune Foods panel, and Friday Night Shows were unexpected treats for me. I walked away with  loads of new friends, stronger connections with existing buddies, cool tips and products, great information, and lots of questions (i.e., Who Am I?) – ha! Overall, I HIGHLY recommend this conference – it was uber fun, super inspiring, and filled with #soulmedicine. And yes – the irony of ME going to #fitbloggin is pretty darn funny.  

  1. People in real life were exactly what I expected from their digital personality. I do believe that’s one definition of authentic.
  2. I am in awe of FoodieMcbody & Paolo’s courage in their one-person shows. The glimpse into their unique journeys, marked by honesty and humor, made us all laugh and cry at the same time. Thank you!
  3. While our stories and paths are all a bit different, I was struck by many common threads. After all, regardless of our story, the road to health involves connecting to the moment and our feelings; self care and acceptance; forgiveness of ourselves and others; accountability and support; and perseverance.
  4. I was blown away by the generosity of the sponsors! And since I live in the “sticks” and am not a real athlete, I don’t always try new stuff. You’ll be hearing more about these folks, but for now, a giant shout out to New Balance, Attune Foods, Pop Chips, Natural Fitness, iBeani, Arctic Ease, Coaches Oats, Tasteful Selections. Check out their websites and give them some love on Facebook and Twitter!
  5. I appreciate the conversation about blogger responsibility. Is it appropriate for me to post my workouts even though I’m not a fitness professional? Heck, I don’t even consider myself a blogger, let alone a fit one! After all, I’m just learning how to ride a bike, don’t know how to cook, and ended up in the emergency room with chronic dehydration. But that makes me an expert on ME and my experience is fair game  – and by sharing, we help ourselves and potentially connect with others with the same challenges. Even so, I’m going to ponder this one for a while….

For more viewpoints, visit Recap Posts from Fellow Fitbloggers – I haven’t read them all, but right now my personal favorites are from BodhiBear (complete with slide show),  FatGirlvsWorld, and LisaJohnsonFitness.

Very special thanks to @NYCPatty, @LosingCity, @middleagedjock, and @FoodieMcBody for their patience and support with my very slow 5K wog 😀

Finally, in the words of Carla Birnberg, “Live in your body. Set yourself up to succeed. Don’t be like me – engage your core.” That was worth the price of admission.

What are your thoughts about our precious online fitness community?

25 Responses to “Lessons Learned and Unexpected Treats at #Fitbloggin”

  1. workout mommy May 23, 2011 at 7:17 pm #

    I think our community is obviously the BEST! 🙂 I really enjoyed talking to you and just love your energy and sense of humor. I hope our paths cross again very soon!

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris May 24, 2011 at 6:19 am #

      YES! I was struck by the love and support of the community. And yes, while there are a couple of rockstars, for the most part, blogging is the great equalizer – no one is better or worse than anyone else. There aren’t too many places around where that is the culture. And yes. yes. yes. we must make our paths cross – I would love to continue our conversation. Hugs!

  2. Kristina @ spabettie May 23, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

    I LOVE Carla’s quote! That is awesome, just like her!

    and YOU! I LOVE YOU! 🙂 you are still one of my favorite online friends. this community is so amazing, I really don’t have too many words… so inspiring, uplifting, supporting and FUN.

    I love that you decided to go last minute and went. if I knew YOU were going I would have too! ❤

    from #5, I love your links… I remember them all – my favorite one learning to ride a bike!

    I guess I'll have to go to this next year… 😀

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris May 24, 2011 at 6:21 am #

      Oh Gosh Kristina – your kind words mean so much to me – really! You know I adore you, basil, your joy and love your healthy experiments in the kitchen. AMAZING. And yes, you MUST go next year – you were definitely on my list of “gee- I wish they were there” peeps. PS I’m getting better on the bike – woot!

  3. Brittany May 23, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

    love you!

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris May 24, 2011 at 6:21 am #

      love you back – you’re a joy sunshine – thank you for all the smiles and laughs this weekend!

  4. Melissa (@MelGetsFit) May 23, 2011 at 7:50 pm #

    It was so awesome getting to meet you, albeit briefly, this weekend! I’m sooooo glad you decided to come out at the last minute. Next year, let’s plan to spend more time together. 🙂

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris May 24, 2011 at 6:22 am #

      I know! We tweeted and tweeted and then totally missed eachother – except for like 2 seconds. I’m glad we did connect and yes, we must giggle and wog together more next year 😉

  5. cassie May 23, 2011 at 7:53 pm #

    it was so nice to meet you.. and anytime on the slow 5k wog.. that’s what we do.. support each other 🙂

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris May 24, 2011 at 6:24 am #

      Awww – such lovely and unexpected connections, eh? Seriously – I can’t tell you how much it meant having yours and Patty’s support – TYSM!

  6. Patty May 23, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

    I loved meeting you! I’m so glad you came to the conference 🙂 It was amazing to have your support there during the 5k! We did it 🙂 And getting to spend some time with you on the last day! I hope to see you soon! {Hugs!}

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris May 24, 2011 at 6:25 am #

      Heya Patty! Yes – Yes – Yes! Dinner was uber fun – it was great to get to know you more – you are adorable! And yes the 5K was so much fun with you! TYSM for stopping by!

  7. run4joy59 May 23, 2011 at 11:15 pm #

    Sounds like you had a great experience…this sounds like something I’d be interested in…info?

  8. Cherry Woodburn May 24, 2011 at 4:20 am #

    Sounds wonderful. Lucky all of you!

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris May 24, 2011 at 6:27 am #

      Yes – and Cherry – these women rocked! So loving, so supportive, so honest – it was really a tribute to the power of community 😀

  9. KCLAnderson (Karen) May 24, 2011 at 5:07 am #

    Yay for roomies!! And the great thing about Fitbloggin is that everyone “fits” in, no matter what.

    Thanks for being a great roommate and a wonderful support during our panel session…your presence and comments were very much appreciated!

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris May 24, 2011 at 6:28 am #

      Karen – the panel was amazing – the best of the weekend. Such a beautiful conversation – some difficult, some easy – but those are the best kinds, eh? And uh, I neglected to mention you ROCKED the kettlebells – unbelievable! Hugs – Hugs – and More Hugs

  10. Karen@WaistingTime May 24, 2011 at 3:01 pm #

    I hope I can go next year. Maybe we’ll get to meet there:)

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris May 24, 2011 at 9:21 pm #

      YES! It was really great – and I was amazed at how equal/supportive/loving everyone was – all fitness levels, all backgrounds, all stories – really, really beautiful. I think you would really enjoy it!

  11. Coco May 24, 2011 at 6:13 pm #

    I’ve got my fingers crossed HARD for next year!

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris May 24, 2011 at 9:22 pm #

      I’m crossing my toes too! Seriously – there were lots of people there – but there were a handful of people that weren’t – and you’re def one of them!

  12. Katie @ Healthy Heddleston June 2, 2011 at 6:15 am #

    Love your recap. And so glad you enjoyed the IE panel 🙂

  13. shauna June 2, 2011 at 9:34 am #

    Krazy Kris! You are a ray of pure sunshine, so glad I got to talk with you 🙂

Leave a Reply

