The Sweet Side of My New Empty Nest – 5 Unexpected Benefits

1 May
Discovering the Sweet Side of My Empty Nest

Discovering the Sweet Side of My Empty Nest

While there have certainly been difficult moments through this transition, there have been a lot of unexpected benefits of my new empty nest.

  1. There are no Honeynut Cheerios in the house.
  2. I get to roam around naked.
  3. My microwave has stayed clean for 3 months.
  4. The  “Bank of Kris” (wallet, bank, credit card) is not in perpetual decline.
  5. There is no longer a strange smell emanating from the northwest corner of the house.

There are more, but they mostly revolve around messes and chores (less trash to take out, less random trash floating round the house and yard, less MESS). I recognize that it’s a bit shallow, but it has been SO lovely to easily keep a tidy, organized, beautiful home.

After all, there’s a bit of bittersweet in life. Why not focus on the sweet?

Related Posts:

8 Responses to “The Sweet Side of My New Empty Nest – 5 Unexpected Benefits”

  1. Cherry Woodburn May 1, 2011 at 9:00 am #

    I just caught up on your life, reading a bunch of posts. Bummer about your back, glad that’s getting better. Not sure what to say about your son – sounds like, all in all, working out well. I am jealous of all you accomplished when he left. I want some of that drive. My sons have been gone for years, I could do it but not overly motivated. Soon I hope.
    Take care of yourself Kris. Hugs, Cherry

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris May 1, 2011 at 10:12 am #

      Aw – thanks so much Cherry! Yes – all in all – all is well. So I’ll take it! As far as the decluttering madness… I had a buddy – my BF+ who was a big help. Sometimes he moved big boxes. Sometimes he just sat there and kept me company. There’s no way I could have done it on my own for sure – but I can say – it has been LOVELY to be “almost” clutter free 😀 Hugs!

  2. Karen May 1, 2011 at 10:12 am #

    I have to admit that I am already thinking of some of the benefits that will come in August when my own nest empties. Walking around naked will NOT be one of them!

  3. run4joy59 May 1, 2011 at 4:28 pm #

    Sounds like you’re adjusting well to the empty nest….sin’t being able to walk around the house naked a luxury?

  4. Coco May 7, 2011 at 5:27 pm #

    I am looking forward to my daughter being home for the summer but also dreading the raid on my wallet, the dirty dishes all over, the mess in the bathroom . . .

Leave a Reply

