Healthy Coffee Cake Recipe | Bob’s Red Mill 8-Grain Cereal

1 Jan

The body snatchers are lurking, and the result is another baking experiment from this non-cook. This time it’s healthy coffee cake with Bob’s Red Mill 8 Grain Hot Cereal. I used Bob’s Original Recipe as the base, and since I had some of their pancake & waffle mix handy, I used that instead of the other flour and related rising stuff. The result is a hearty and healthy coffee cake that is nutty and just sweet enough. I had a bit more batter than a pie dish, so I made a few individuals in my pretty new dishes. (Too bad I can’t focus the camera – sigh – I’ll work on that….)

You may wonder why I’m on this 8 Grain Cereal kick – well, in 1/4 cup serving, it has 27 g carbs, 0 sugar, 6 g fiber & 5 g protein. I’m thinking this is a PERFECT base ingredient, eh?

Healthy Coffee Cake

Combine dry ingredients. Mix together the butter, eggs, syrup & yogurt; mix wet with dry. Pour a portion into a greased pie pan. Add a layer of apples & nuts. Pour the remainder of batter over the top. Bake at 35o for 30 minutes. (Note: I didn’t watch the time perfectly – and my “recollection” was that it was done in 30 minutes – but it may have been less. Keep an eye on it and when the toothpick is clean – voila!)

I think I’m going to try some cookies later…. What else could we make with the Bob’s 8 Grain Cereal?

Oh yeah – HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Related Posts:

9 Responses to “Healthy Coffee Cake Recipe | Bob’s Red Mill 8-Grain Cereal”

  1. mynakedbokkie January 1, 2011 at 8:34 am #

    I think this is a bad time to be doing cake…haha!!!

    Happy New Year!

    X

    • run4joy59 January 1, 2011 at 8:55 am #

      This sounds like a pretty healthy recipe…I’m thinking I may give it a try but in muffin form…I always freeze most of a batch of muffins…instant portion control!!

      Happy New Year!!

      • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris January 1, 2011 at 7:40 pm #

        Muffins are dandy, eh? I think my next iteration will be in muffin form cuz the big thing in the pie plate was just way too much. These pieces are very hearty and filling!

  2. lindsay January 1, 2011 at 10:18 am #

    can’t go wrong with coffee cake! I bet you that cereal would be great mixed into some polenta cakes for extra fiber!

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris January 1, 2011 at 7:40 pm #

      Oooooh – what’s a polenta? It sounds like it needs honey, right? Hmmmm… of course you send me to google once again 😉

  3. Kerri O January 1, 2011 at 11:03 am #

    Droooooool. I’m doing the 4 HB right now, so, ya, drooooool. 😉

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris January 1, 2011 at 7:41 pm #

      Kerri – I’m not sure what 4HB is – but I’ll drool with you. I typically don’t like to drool in public, but we’re all friends here 😉

  4. spabettie January 1, 2011 at 12:48 pm #

    this sounds great, you ARE a baker!! 😀

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris January 1, 2011 at 7:42 pm #

      Eeeeeeeek! TY but NOT! I made a pie last night that really didn’t work very well, and my next attempt at cookies will not require any “rising” ingredients.

      I think it’s just safer that way.

      Just give me flour, butter & sugar – I think that will do just fine.

      And, you know you inspire me – you are a REAL baker!

Leave a Reply

