10 Things You May Not Know About Me

15 Dec
Wordpress Freshly Pressed

My Unexpected Landing on the Freshly Pressed Page

It’s been a whorl wind day for this non-blogger for sure – I’m such a newbie, I didn’t even know what being Freshly Pressed meant! I want to express my sincere gratitude to the WordPress  folks for their kind and generous nod that significantly helped introduce me to many new friends.

Everyone’s comments were all so thoughtful; and I am reminded that I am not alone.  And knowing that we are not alone is really the most powerful part of community. (View Freshly Pressed Post – 5 Sneaky Productivity Lies)

I’m doing my best to reply to all the comments and visit your sites, and I hope you’ll be patient because it will probably take a little while 😉

Since many of us haven’t been formally introduced, I thought I would tell you 10 things about me that you probably don’t know.

10 Things You May Not Know About Me

  1. I never played sports – it never occurred to me.
  2. When I was in labor, I insisted that my then-hubby call my boss to tell him where I had put the reports that day.
  3. I played the lead role of Sally Bowles in a local production of Cabaret.
  4. I started college at 16 & traveled solo in Europe at 17.
  5. Many years ago I got certified to teach Spin, but I never taught a class because I was too chicken to ask.
  6. My marriage counselor gave me a refund.
  7. I want to go to Argentina for an extended period to study Spanish & tango – and I’d be perfectly content going alone.
  8. When I was a kid, we drank milk that we made from powder and a hot dog/catsup/english muffin pizza was a big splurge.
  9. I tried to summit Mt. Whitney but got sick at 11,000 feet, and I was pretty sad about that for a while.
  10. Even though I’ve been doing my work for 13 years, there are days that I still have to “act as if”.

Consider joining me on twitter and use the #fitblog or #workhappy tag to join our community!

Care to share anything about yourself?

My Friend’s Blogs & Other Cool Sites (Yes, The Beginning of My Blog Roll – Which I’m terribly behind on!)

Posts You Might Enjoy:

25 Responses to “10 Things You May Not Know About Me”

  1. mynakedbokkie December 15, 2010 at 10:58 pm #

    That was a great introduction after being freshly pressed!!! Shoo wee- I am so excited about the idea. However now that you are suddenly Ms super cool- know that everyone is watching!!!! Yah!!!!
    http://husbands4hire.wordpress.com

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris December 16, 2010 at 8:17 am #

      Famous? Not… You’re funny! I’m just me… krazy, klutzy & needing to find the humor in everything, because life is short, eh?

      Thanks so much for stopping by – I LOVE your blog too – we have a few things in common, eh?

      Hugs!

  2. lindsay December 16, 2010 at 3:59 am #

    YOu need to go back to teach spin. Get paid to work out, thats a good deal!
    thanks for the links. I can’t wait to check them out.

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris December 16, 2010 at 8:16 am #

      Oh gosh… I don’t know! I’ve “thought” about it… cuz mainly I’m a huge music buff & I love working out to non-disco/non-step type music. That’s probably not the right reason. I have been rediscovering the spin bike at the gym – now they have on in the cardio room (not like the old days when they were only for use in the spin studio) – and I have to say, I really do like it.

      Hmmmmmmmmm….

  3. Suzanne @WorkoutNirvana December 16, 2010 at 7:10 am #

    There you go again, being yourself – funny, smart, self effacing, and generous. I’m shaking my head because all of these things sound exactly like you (even the refund on counseling – you’re so sweet, anyone would give your money back!!). Like I’ve said, I’m incredibly proud of you, girlfriend. Everyone who gets to know you is lucky indeed :).

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris December 16, 2010 at 8:14 am #

      LOL Suzanne – I don’t think he gave me my money back because I’m sweet, I think it was because we were a lost cause – ha! You are so kind & smart & STRONG! Thanks so much for helping me get off my arse with our workout swaps – mwah!

  4. Karen December 16, 2010 at 7:14 am #

    Thanks for the mention and your kind words, Kris:) Your number one literally had me LOLing; I can sooooo identify with it. I have never heard of Freshly Pressed so am going to check that our right now…

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris December 16, 2010 at 8:13 am #

      Ha! Seriously, it never occurred to me and was never really an option. So I really don’t have ANY background in exercise and stuff and I really am learning from scratch. Thanks again Karen – xoxox

  5. Joyce Cherrier December 16, 2010 at 7:36 am #

    Your 10 things are great! Loved learning a bit about you! Thanks so much for adding me to your roll! I need to get mine updated!

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris December 16, 2010 at 8:10 am #

      Hehehe – thanks so much Joyce! I’m beyond updating mine, I have to create it LOL. So perhaps we can plug away… one fabulous blog at a time? Thanks again ~

  6. spabettie December 16, 2010 at 7:59 am #

    1) I love your list.
    2) I am HONORED to be on your blogroll, my friend.
    3) you SO deserve Freshly Pressed! ❤
    4) GO TO ARGENTINA !!!
    5) I would totally take a spin class from you.
    6) I ❤ you… have a fabulous day XXO

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris December 16, 2010 at 8:09 am #

      Seriously Ms Spabettie – I smile everytime I see your posts – and I love to smile. What is not to love about picture stories with cookies as the characters?!

      You are sooooo kind and wise – I will follow your advice! Thank you again ~~

  7. Sarah Kay Hoffman December 16, 2010 at 11:40 am #

    These are great, Kris! Of course I love #6. That’s just funny:) It’s always fun to see the many sides of someone. You are great!

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris December 16, 2010 at 3:47 pm #

      Oh yes… we were such a lost cause that we got a refund. I am VERY fond of that one 😉 Thank you sunshine!

  8. Generation 26 December 16, 2010 at 3:40 pm #

    This was a really cool blog 🙂
    Out of curiosity how did you manage to start college at 16? How was the experience?

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris December 16, 2010 at 3:47 pm #

      Great question. Well… Basically I skipped 7th & 11th grade. The 7th grade time, people just that I should. The 11th grade time >> I was an exchange student in HS and returned as a Jr & thought I was a little bored. And since I was always in extra classes (remember I didn’t play sports), I took an English & Govt class at the local jr college and had enough credits to graduate (no testing or GED). In terms of the experience? I wouldn’t change it, but I wouldn’t recommend it, because that’s really emotionally young to be in college 😉 The school part was easy for me (cuz I tend to be good at school), but the people part was weird.

      • Generation 26 December 17, 2010 at 11:29 am #

        That’s super cool 🙂
        HIGHFIVE FOR YOU!
        Keep blogging

      • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris December 17, 2010 at 3:13 pm #

        Why thank you 😀

  9. KCLAnderson (Karen) December 16, 2010 at 5:28 pm #

    LOVED this post! And I relate mostly to #1. I’m jealous of #3 and I think everyone can say #10 about themselves (no matter how long they’ve been in a job!)

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris December 17, 2010 at 7:15 am #

      Thanks so much! Yes – Sally was VERY fun. And I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one acting as if. Thanks so much for stopping by!

  10. workingtechmom December 16, 2010 at 7:56 pm #

    Great post and a cool way for new readers to know you better. I was sad reading #9…you should be proud of the accomplishment of 11,000 feet. Most people never do that!

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris December 16, 2010 at 8:04 pm #

      TYSM for your nice comment. Eventually I was proud (emphasis on eventually LOL)… After all, trees don’t even grow at 11K feet & my pack weighed 40 pounds & I gave it a big girl try 😉 But it took me a while to “get” there…. Loved your post today – the fact that you posted means that you survived 😉

  11. Terry Earp December 22, 2010 at 1:48 pm #

    I am also new at blogging. I have a lot to learn. I have enjoyed reading your random articles. You have a very fun way of expressing yourself. I will drop in from time to time to keep up.

    Keep up the great work,
    Terry

  12. Jasmine December 28, 2010 at 4:12 pm #

    I dream of living in Buenos Aires. Maybe I’ll meet ya there someday and we’ll do a Tango class together. ❤

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris December 28, 2010 at 4:46 pm #

      Yes! Tango is soooooooo much fun! You have good tango in your neck of the woods – super fun activity with the honey 😉

Leave a Reply

