How the Power of “More” Changed My Habits

21 Nov
My Bike and Me

My Bike and Me - In Real Life

“Whatever we think about gets bigger….”

It was about 20 years ago when I first heard this, and it has always stuck with me. Over time, I’ve mainly applied this to my thinking. For example, focusing on the solution gets makes the solution grow in our mind, and is more productive than focusing on the problem. But without knowing it, I subconsciously applied this to my behavior on my recent healthy living journey.

Instead of focusing on all of the bad things I shouldn’t be doing (and that deserves its own post, believe me), I gave purposeful attention to MORE.

My “More’s”

  1. More breakfast
  2. More water
  3. More vegetables
  4. More cooking
  5. More movement
  6. More rest
  7. More spinach
  8. More music
  9. More walking
  10. More reading

I did not focus on all of these at once (I know myself well enough to know that I am not THAT well). Rather, I dined on the elephant bite by bite, day by day, one baby step at a time. Each bite was both manageable and meaningful. And by filling the space with MORE of the good stuff, there was less room for the “other” stuff.

The Result of More?

  1. Less take out
  2. Less coffee
  3. Less couch time
  4. Less candy bars
  5. Less hunger
  6. Less inches on my waist (and arse)
  7. Less cravings
  8. Less television
  9. Less soda
  10. Less pounds

Have you tried the power of more?

Related Posts:

17 Responses to “How the Power of “More” Changed My Habits”

  1. Joyce Cherrier November 22, 2010 at 12:44 pm #

    Your more’s really struck me. We have so many ‘no’s’ that it’s nice to view from the ‘more’ side of things. Leaving your post feeling positive! Thanks Kris!

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris November 23, 2010 at 7:59 am #

      Ahhhhh Joyce – that is so kind! I’m totally a more kind of girl – it’s funny that now it’s helping me in a healthier way 😉

  2. Todd@PhitZone November 23, 2010 at 6:51 am #

    The power of more… I love it!

  3. Karen November 23, 2010 at 9:01 am #

    So, being honest here, the first thought that jumped into my head as I was reading was how I was focused on “bad” eating lately and that was growing into more. Sigh. Love your lists.

  4. homebydawn December 31, 2010 at 1:02 pm #

    Great idea, and I will begin 2011 by giving myself more. Thank you for the new way of looking at how I treat myself!

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris December 31, 2010 at 2:37 pm #

      More – More – More! Doesn’t it just feel and sound better? And I so love your handle – homebydawn – I love that you have that kind of discipline. I may need to try a few homebydawn walks – it sounds so lovely and peaceful!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention How the Power of “More” « The Heart & Humor of Being Human -- Topsy.com - November 21, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Suzanne, Kris M O'Connor. Kris M O'Connor said: New Post: How the Power of “More”: “Whatever we think about gets bigger….” It was about 20 years ago wh… http://bit.ly/awXGOA #fitblog […]

  2. Tweets that mention How the Power of “More” Changed My Habits « The Heart & Humor of Being Human -- Topsy.com - November 23, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Kris M O'Connor, Matt Browne. Matt Browne said: How the Power of “More” Changed My Habits http://bit.ly/cWU6xs via @krazy_kris #healthy #health […]

  3. Syncope – My Little Wake Up Call « The Heart & Humor of Being Human - December 3, 2010

    […] How the Power of “More” Changed my Habits […]

  4. 5 Sneaky Productivity Lies « The Heart & Humor of Being Human - December 12, 2010

    […] How the Power of “More” Changed My Habits (Moi) […]

  5. In 2011, Let’s Have More! « homebydawn - January 2, 2011

    […] This is a great post on changing our approach to healthy living.  “How the Power of “More”…… […]

  6. I’m Going to Vegas! My Health and Wellness “Do” List « The Heart & Humor of Being Human - May 7, 2011

    […] work for me – I am SUCH a rebel. My whole wannabe health and wellness philosophy is about the Power of More – more vegetables, more movement, more water.  I’m on a really good streak right now […]

  7. I’m Going to #Fitbloggin | The Irony Continues « The Heart & Humor of Being Human - May 17, 2011

    […] How the Power of “More” Changed My Habits […]

  8. We Walked, Played and Ate | My Dad’s Healthy Visit « The Heart & Humor of Being Human - May 29, 2011

    […] I’ve changed my habits slowly over the past year using The Power of More philosophy. Him? He eats breakfast every day now and has given up the candy bars and donuts for the […]

  9. 5 Sneaky Productivity Lies - The Heart & Humor of Being Human - June 3, 2011

    […] How the Power of “More” Changed My Habits (Moi) […]

  10. I’m Going to Vegas! My Health and Wellness “Do” List - The Heart & Humor of Being Human - June 3, 2011

    […] work for me – I am SUCH a rebel. My whole wannabe health and wellness philosophy is about the Power of More – more vegetables, more movement, more water.  I’m on a really good streak right now […]

Leave a Reply

