The Good, Bad and the Ugly – B+ on My Second Trip

18 Nov

This was a big trip – 5 days in lovely Monterey, California. Between press meetings & our big Sustainable Ag Expo, I had 2 days that were not too rough in terms of scheduling and 3 days that were demanding. I’m not a saint, but I’ve been very consistent in adopting healthier habits, and I don’t want to undo all the progress I’ve made.

Overall, I have about 10 days of travel over 14 days. I felt so good after the first trip, I was excited to stay the course to help minimize the mental and physical fatigue.  

The Good….

  • Because my room had a fridge, I shopped for food as soon as I got to town! Deviled eggs; turkey, cheese, honey mustard & sprouted tortillas; yogurt, berries, almonds & quinoa granola; fruit;  luna bars; and yummy tea. I must say, I was giddy to be able to eat healthy food “most” of the time. Seriously, I just grinned & giggled over my morning yogurt concoction.
  • For a couple of meals that I had outside of my room, I chose a salad over a sandwich for lunch & a filet with veggies for dinner.
  • I didn’t drink coffee all day, every day.
  • I drank a good amount of water (which for me is about 6 glasses per day).
  • I went on two walks on the beach – one walk included 3 “jogging” segments (geesh it’s hard on the sand). Overall, I got 90 minutes of activity over the 5 days (not great, but not zero minutes either).
  • I didn’t work every waking hour – I started a new book, ignored a few hundred emails,  and got to bed by 10:30 each night.

The Bad and the Ugly…

  • I could have passed on the 2 giant cookies on Day 4.
  • I could have passed on the second gooey, soft, sourdough roll slathered in butter with my filet on Day 2 😉
  • Even during my 3 LONG days, I should have tried to sweat a bit, even if it was for 10-15 minutes in my room.

What I Learned

  • Get a fridge! Get a fridge! Get a fridge!
  • It was great having the food in my room, but for my looooooooong days when I REALLY needed to fuel myself well, I needed baggies or bowls to take some of it down to the conference with me. I had all this great food in my room and couldn’t sneak away to eat it. And my body could feel it! That’s when the cookies and coffee called to me (hellloooooooo Kris).
  • It would have been helpful to have brought my own bowls & forks. I kept poaching them from the kitchen, and the housekeeper kept cleaning them out of my room. Sigh…
  • Fatigue DEFINITELY affects my choices – the more tired or hungry I am, the more I want sodas, sweets, starches and coffee. If I can stay ahead of that and fuel myself well, my desires are NOTICEABLY different.
  • I HAVE to make myself do some sort of activity when I’m beat. That is just not my natural tendency. But I feel so much better when I do, I need to get my shoes on, before I sit down, and head out. Or, at the very least, go through some motions in the room.

Overall, I give myself a B+ for this trip (not bad considering I’m capable of flunking) mainly because of not getting more exercise.

My 2 wk travel stretch is almost over – tomorrow I leave again. Wish me luck!

Related Posts:

9 Responses to “The Good, Bad and the Ugly – B+ on My Second Trip”

  1. Heather @ Not a DIY Life November 18, 2010 at 7:32 am #

    I have found that if I take my resistance band in my suitcase, I can at least do some strength exercises in my hotel room (not that I travel much, but ya know…). And I LURVE Pilates. I’ve learned enough moves that I can do about 15 minutes worth on the floor in the hotel room as well. Anything to get the blood circulating!

    Considering most people would have given in to all of the downfalls, I think you did great! A+ from me! 🙂

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris November 18, 2010 at 7:44 am #

      Thanks Heather! I packed my jumprope… hehehe… I’m almost counting that 😉 I’d like to learn more Pilates. @LisaJohnson suggested that I start with the roll up (I do that WELL) and the rolling like a ball (uh….I suck), but I think I’d like to do more. You’re right, anything to get the blood circulating is good, Good, GOOD! Hugs ~

  2. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun November 18, 2010 at 10:30 am #

    Fatigue affects my choices too! I always want sugar when I’m tired.

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris November 18, 2010 at 1:40 pm #

      Isn’t that funny? When I’m fed well, rested & watered (like a good horse), I don’t crave the other stuff…. Thanks so much for stopping by!

  3. Suzanne @WorkoutNirvana November 18, 2010 at 5:16 pm #

    Me too, I think you did great. I thought deviled eggs were evil, but if they aren’t I would eat them every day!!

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris November 18, 2010 at 7:07 pm #

      Thanks Suzanne! Definitely live and learn, eh? But seriously, I am soooooooooooo capable of flunking, so I’m pretty stoked 😉

  4. Coco November 18, 2010 at 5:47 pm #

    You did great! Maybe you could hide borrowed dishes in your suitcase! If you have a lap top you can do DVDs or podcasts.

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris November 18, 2010 at 7:02 pm #

      Great tips! It’s funny – I didn’t even think about the baggies, bowls & stuff til I was hungry, had food, & was a bit stranded LOL Thanks again Coco!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My First Trip Trying to Stay Healthy: Giving Myself an A- « The Heart & Humor of Being Human - November 29, 2010

    […] The Good, Bad & the Ugly – Second Trip – B+ […]

Leave a Reply

