Trying to be Healthy on the Road – Day 1

9 Nov

I get to travel for work.  I must say, being on the road is a challenge to watch my calories and get some exercise in. I’m usually so tired that when I’m not in meetings that I hole up in my room with room service. I basically eat restaurant/room service 3 meals a day and that’s a killer. And when I’m tired, I’m much more likely to order a BLT & fries rather than a salad. It’s funny, my mood and energy totally influences my food choices.  

This week I’m in Santa Rosa, California for the Green Wine Summit (I’m giving a talk and staffing a table). On Friday, I turn around to Monterey for a press tour at the Great Wine Escape. I finish up with our very own Sustainable Ag Expo.

Over the 2 weeks, I’ll be in hotels about 10 days and I’m really going to try to “shift” a few of my travel habits. I packed my jumprope, workout clothes, iPod, water bottle, tuna packs, almonds & apples. I’m hopeful, but not overly confident.

2 Hrs into the Trip: Starved, Must Eat

Once again, I’m driving and starved and the almonds are NOT cutting it.

I stopped at the Jack in the Box (I was desperate)  and ordered the Grilled Chicken Pita Snack. I picked this because a “salad” wasn’t going to cut it and it looked like a “decent” choice in terms of portions. And aside from the sodium (a whopping 733 mg), it was decent in other areas (327 calories, 31 g carbs, 2 g sugar, 18 g protein). OK, so it wasn’t perfect, but it wasn’t over 1,000 calories with 1500 mg of sodium, which is very possible at all the fast food joints.  I ordered a diet coke (it was calling me)…. This was not a good start.

Hotel Arrival

I didn’t even sit down. I changed clothes, grabbed the iPod and headed out. There’s a lovely path here that goes along the river. I figured I’d head out for 30 minutes or so before it got dark. I wogged (walk + jog) and janced (jog + dance). I rolled back into the hotel 60 minutes later! Good job Kris!

Ending the Day Strong

I ran some business errands, went to a restaurant and ordered a sensible dinner, read a little bit, did some work, and got to bed early. Wooooot!

Lessons Learned?

  1. I should have not been in such a rush to hit the road and should have made time to eat a good lunch at home first. If I had started the trip on a full stomach, I could have “made” it to Santa Rosa with my almonds, fruit & water and avoided the fast food.
  2. After ordering the diet coke (haven’t done that in a while) and getting back into my car, it occurred to me I might be thirsty, so I drank water first. And you know what? I was thirsty and the water tasted great. I did have a few sips of the soda, but by the end of the drive, I had finished WAY more water than soda.
  3. Putting my shoes on when I got into my room was key! I didn’t sit down and allow myself a chance the option to not get out. I got out for an hour (way more than I had planned), and it felt great!
  4. I enjoyed getting out to eat and reading – it calmed me down a bit. It was nicer than isolating with room service and my computer. Plus I had better options than if I’d ordered room service. I enjoyed roasted tomato soup, grilled chicken, rice/grains, & green beans. I splurged on a piece of sourdough (yum), ate all my vegetables and chicken, and left some of the pilaf. Granted it was more calories and sodium than at home, but it was definitely a better choice than a burger and fries.

So Day 1 was not a complete disaster – wish me luck for Days 2 – 14!

Any healthy travel tips?

6 Responses to “Trying to be Healthy on the Road – Day 1”

  1. run4joy59 November 10, 2010 at 4:48 am #

    Good job on the exercise and sensible eating…I always exercise in my room when I have to travel…I bring a resistance band for strength training…lucky you for having nice walking trails nearby…I’m always right along a busy city street…boo!! Enjoy the rest of your week!
    Oh…I had a couple diet soft drinks yesterday…had one fairly early in the day, then our corporate visitor took us out to lunch and I had a diet Pepsi…why in the world didn’t I just order water?!

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris November 10, 2010 at 6:47 pm #

      A band – that’s a good idea! I brought a rope, but didn’t use it LOL All and all, I’m giving myself a B+… And yes, I had 2 sodas LOL Whatever, I’m not a saint – ha!

  2. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun November 10, 2010 at 12:02 pm #

    That has got to be so hard! I love how realistic you are with it though and take it as a chance to learn and improve. It really puts a new meaning and level on no excuses.

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris November 10, 2010 at 6:49 pm #

      Thanks so much Tina! That really means a lot to me – I’m a slow kind of gal, and it’s been working so far. I really started from SUCH a bad place, that little changes are very purposeful and important! I’m sort of grading myself on the relative curve LOL Thanks again for stopping by & commenting ~

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Trying to be Healthy on the Road – Day 1 « The Heart & Humor of Being Human -- Topsy.com - November 9, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Joyce Cherrier and Aimee Hruska, Kris M O'Connor. Kris M O'Connor said: Trying to be Healthy on the Road – Day 1 Wasn't a Complete Disaster: http://t.co/O0HG1Mq […]

  2. My First Trip Trying to Stay Healthy: Giving Myself an A- « The Heart & Humor of Being Human - November 10, 2010

    […] feta; oatmeal & fruit; Subway Turkey  Flatbread). BUT I also had fast food during the drive (Jack in the Box Chicken Pita & McDonalds Sirloin Wrap). I didn’t look at the nutritional information before I ordered, […]

Leave a Reply

