10 Clues That I’ve Adopted New Healthy Habits

7 Nov

Trying to incorporate new healthy habits has been a slow process. For me, making sustained changes requires baby steps that I can do one day at a time. I’m smart enough to know that I’m not going to swap a pizza for a cooking habit overnight.  On that one, I started by committing to cook 2 days per week (up from zero).  And if I’d started saying, “I have to get 200 minutes/week activity,” it would be so daunting, I would quit before I started. I started by working out with a trainer 2 days per week, and a couple of weeks ago I actually got 400 minutes of activity! As a frame of reference, it wasn’t that long ago that I got zero minutes per week (sad, I know).  

There are definitely clues that my habits and lifestyle choices have shifted over the last year.

  1. Dishwasher has more plates than coffee cups
  2. Hamper is overflowing with workout clothes
  3. Work files are packed in backpack (code for I walk to work)
  4. Computer is off, music on
  5. Water bottle is sitting conspicuously on my coffee table or desk
  6. Sink has plenty of dirty pyrex bowls and lids (code for I take home cooked food to work)
  7. I frequently trip over tennis shoes in the living room
  8. 3 gallon water jug is empty
  9. Laptop is off
  10. No rotten veggies in the fridge (code for I ate them)

As a result of these little changes, I’m different. My body is stronger. My waist is slimmer. My taste buds are changing. My mind is clearer. I am happier.

I’m still working on #4, #5, #8, & #9 – but all and all, it’s been a good year and I am very proud.

Any surprising clues to your healthy lifestyle path?

19 Responses to “10 Clues That I’ve Adopted New Healthy Habits”

  1. Kathy Harris November 7, 2010 at 9:25 am #

    It’s hard to look for the small things. I’m someone who wants big results now! Of course that’s not realistic so I’m happy to have read your 10 clues as that sums up my experience as well; knowing that it’s one day at a time.

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris November 7, 2010 at 9:27 am #

      Thank you Kathy! I have to look for the small things, cuz those are the only packages for my progress LOL So glad for you – really – in it for the long haul, little by little. Thanks again!

  2. merindab November 7, 2010 at 9:30 am #

    Great job. I knew I’d lost 10 lbs by the scale, but it wasn’t until I put on my pants and they were big on me today that I realized yes, I have lost weight

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris November 7, 2010 at 9:37 am #

      Thank you! Ah – the scale – it is NOT my friend. I went to doing NOTHING and eating garbage to eating better and getting some minutes in, and nothing on the scale. But I just kept at it, cuz I was trying to focus on the “health” piece – I had to be healthier right? hehehe But then I discovered the inches baby – I’m all about the inches! How fun is that to put on some clothes and DELIGHT in the new fit? Seriously, that is VERY cool! TYSM for stopping by and commenting 😉

      • merindab November 7, 2010 at 9:44 am #

        Thank you. I’m loving #fitblog. It’s so motivating to read everyone else stories and it inspired me to start my own healthy blog, if you want to stop by.

        But yeah, .3 lbs lost this week but a couple inches instead? I’ll take that!

      • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris November 7, 2010 at 9:48 am #

        SHA-BANG! Inches any day, eh? I’d love to stop by – are you Merinda’s Meanderings? And yes, #fitblog is soooo cool – I’ve learned so much and am hopeful that I’m not alone!

      • merindab November 7, 2010 at 9:49 am #

        heh can’t reply directly. And I am. the health blog’s actually at http://www.merindabrayfield.com/healthymerinda

        Need to put a link on the writing blog to the health blog, actually

  3. bookjunkie November 7, 2010 at 10:08 am #

    love this post….I love posts that a bite size and creative 🙂

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris November 7, 2010 at 10:37 am #

      That is sooooo kind! Thank you so much for your lovely comment. I just checked out your blog – funny – 39 was HARD for me and 40 was a piece of cake (so to speak). I’m definitely checking out your stuff – thanks again!

  4. spabettie November 7, 2010 at 10:13 am #

    this is a great list, Kris !!

    I am constantly working on computer off as well… and it’s funny, Basil is crawling all over me as I (try to) type this, meaning get off the computer and take me for a walk!!

    🙂 off we go!

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris November 7, 2010 at 10:34 am #

      Off for a walk! My kitty lays on me & nuzzles my chin… that is when it’s time to shut down – Thanks for stopping by Kristina!

  5. run4joy59 November 7, 2010 at 3:08 pm #

    Congrats on the healthy changes you’ve made…I’ve lost over 150 pounds (yes, you read that right) by focusing on small goals…I know I’d have given up before I started if I’d focused on the big picture. I’m not going to say it’s easy now, but I sure am a lot healthier than I was before!

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris November 7, 2010 at 3:13 pm #

      Oh Wow! You are AMAZING! I can’t even imagine. It’s funny, because our stories are different, but our paths are similar, eh? Small little steps over the long haul will win the game. And look at you now – cooking up that delish pizza w homemade whole wheat crust w flaxseed meal. Who would have thought? Thanks so much for stopping by – K

  6. Lisa @ I'm an Okie November 10, 2010 at 6:13 pm #

    you should be proud! those are some huge changes.

    I always suggest to people that they work on one thing for two weeks. Change one habit, then move to a new one!

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris November 10, 2010 at 6:51 pm #

      Lisa – that’s a really great point. I think one habit in 2 weeks is a super guideline! I’m going to keep that in mind – thanks again for stopping by!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention 10 Clues That I’ve Adopted New Healthy Habits « The Heart & Humor of Being Human -- Topsy.com - November 7, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Kris M O'Connor and Keri Gans, Kris M O'Connor. Kris M O'Connor said: New Post: 10 Clues That I’ve Adopted New Healthy Habits: Trying to incorporate new healthy habits has b… http://bit.ly/9tEtbb #fitblog […]

  2. Weekly Links 11/11 | Getting Healthier Day by Day - November 11, 2010

    […] Kris O’Connor: 10 clues I’ve adopted new healthy habits For me it’s the bag of boxes of raisins on the counter, the new hiking shoes by the door and […]

  3. Syncope – My Little Wake Up Call « The Heart & Humor of Being Human - December 3, 2010

    […] 10 Clues I’m on the Right Track to Healthy Living […]

  4. The 2000 Calorie Scam « The Heart & Humor of Being Human - December 12, 2010

    […] 10 Clues I’ve Adopted Healthier Habits […]

Leave a Reply

