400 Minutes and I Only Went to Gym Once?

29 Oct

Can it be? Did I get in 400 minutes of activity without trying that hard and only going to the gym once? Confirmed by a spreadsheet and double-checking my formulas – I did, in fact, get 400 minutes of activity in 7 days.

The biggie? I walked to work…. That added some serious minutes. Granted, it’s not hard core, but it’s still activity, and my happy music tends to pick up my step a bit. (Plus I’ve been enjoying the quizzical glances and smiles as I sing, smile, and snap down the sidewalk.) Let us not forget my 2.5 hr bike ride — that certainly made a dent too!

But, it wasn’t that long ago when I looked at the recommendations for activity and shrieked, “There’s no way I can move that many minutes in a week – I’m too busy!”

Day Activity Moderate Sweaty Total
Sat Bike Ride 0 150 150
Sun Couch Potato 0 0
Mon C25K Walk/Jog + Walk to Work 30 30 60
Tues Gym w SONJIA & Walk to Work 30 60 90
Weds Computer Slave 0 0
Thurs Walk to Work & Jump Rope Practice (Met Goal #1 **smiles proudly**) 30 20 50
Fri Walk to Work + Errands 50 50
Total Minutes 140 260 400

What I learned? Every little bit counts – even a few minutes at a time (check out Lisa Johnson’s on Starting a Cardio Plan). And walking + music is good for my soul… so there was a great benefit to my mood (again, Lisa did a great article “Come On – Get Happy” a few days ago).

Have you had any aha moments about getting some activity in? Any tips to share?

9 Responses to “400 Minutes and I Only Went to Gym Once?”

  1. Suzanne @WorkoutNirvana October 29, 2010 at 4:51 pm #

    The main thing is that I’m impressed – you are SO structured in your workout life. Good lord, you are tracking your activity in a spreadsheet?! Lady, I’d love to meet you – I bet you look great. And you constantly mix it up, too, something I bet we could all learn from. Thanks for coming into the fitness community!

    • krismoconnor October 29, 2010 at 4:54 pm #

      Thanks Suzanne! The funny thing is that I’m NOT that structured… it just sort of happened… it’s like I’ve been taken over by some body snatchers 😉 I actually started working out with a trainer to FORCE me to show up a couple of days a week. And on a good week, I would squeeze something or other in at home or (gasp) on a machine or with weights. Thanks again for your kind words – I LOVE learning from folks in this community!

  2. spabettie October 29, 2010 at 5:09 pm #

    HUZZAH ! this is so very awesome and inspirational !

    I have an ancient system of DRY ERASE BOARD to track my workouts, # of water and # of fruit veggie per day… something about writing it down and seeing it I like… 😀

    How is the C to 5k going ? I started a *modified* plan recently… I’m just starting to run again after 2 injuries… I used to run all the time – 5 to 12k -and I feel like I am learning all over again!! 😀

    • krismoconnor October 29, 2010 at 8:29 pm #

      That’s so cool! I always write down my workouts at work on the board cuz one of my girls is an animal and she loves new ideas 😉 Geesh – you count your fruits & veggies? 5 a day is sooooooo daunting sometimes!
      The C25K is, uh…. it’s going. I’m not injured but I’m a bit older and I’ve NEVER jogged… So my ankles are tender. I repeated week 3 and did a modified wk 3/4 this week. I’m going to stretch it out a bit – partly cuz I’m a sissy, but partly cuz I do other stuff (jump rope, sonjia & bike riding) and it’s hard for me to get 3 walk/jogs in per week.
      But the website says to listen to your body, so what the heck, eh?
      Thanks so much for stopping by – hugs and happy halloween!

  3. thebettylife October 30, 2010 at 2:11 am #

    Good luck with your goals! I always keep track of my exercise too, just to watch my progress. Seems like your on the right track. Keep it up! 🙂

    • krismoconnor October 30, 2010 at 7:57 am #

      Thanks so much Betty for your kind words. It’s funny cuz if you would have asked me whether I could get 400 minutes of activity in (granted, it wasn’t all SUPER SWEATY movement)….. Well…. I would have never thought it. Just checked out our site – LOVE your food stuffs! I’m learning how to cook (more assemble actually), so I’ll be checking your stuff out for ideas – thanks again! 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention 400 Minutes and I Only Went to Gym Once? « The Heart & Humor of Being Human -- Topsy.com - October 31, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Kris M O'Connor, Mike Dasalla, Kris M O'Connor, Kris M O'Connor, Kris M O'Connor and others. Kris M O'Connor said: 400 Minutes and I Only Went to Gym Once?: http://t.co/xLaFSsp […]

  2. 10 Clues That I’ve Adopted New Healthy Habits « The Heart & Humor of Being Human - November 7, 2010

    […] I started by working out with a trainer 2 days per week, and a couple of weeks ago I actually got 400 minutes of activity! As a frame of reference, it wasn’t that long ago that I got zero minutes per week (sad, I […]

  3. How the Power of “More” « The Heart & Humor of Being Human - November 21, 2010

    […] 400 Minutes and I Only Went to the Gym Once? […]

Leave a Reply

