Meet Cindy – A Fun CrossFit Workout

4 Oct

As you know, Sonjia has introduced me to new exercises & workouts that challenge me in various ways. She was recently certified in CrossFit, which is a really fun approach and is built on balancing 10 areas of overall fitness.

  • Cardiorespriratory Endurance
  • Stamina
  • Strength
  • Flexibility
  • Power
  • Speed
  • Coordination
  • Accuracy
  • Agility
  • Balance

Some of the workouts are a bit more intense than I am ready for, so I am fond of being able to modify. I modified the pull ups, others may want to modify the pushups. But this is a great one to benchmark your own abilities.

Cindy CrossFit Workout

  • 5 Pull Ups (I used the band for help because I can only do 3 – 5 on my own)
  • 10 Push Ups
  • 15 Body Weight Squats

Repeat for 20 minutes and count how many sets you do.

My Benchmark

One of the great things about this is we can repeat periodically to see how we improve. I feel like I’m getting stronger, but actually tracking this on a piece of paper proves it.

  • August 27 – 13 rounds
  • October 4 – 18 rounds

Can I hear a Woo Hoo?!?!?!

Give it a try and let me know what you think!

Related Posts:

 

8 Responses to “Meet Cindy – A Fun CrossFit Workout”

  1. Rita October 5, 2010 at 11:28 pm #

    Holy crap that’s a big difference! I enjoy your unblog, that’s awesome. Cross fit really hasn’t caught on here in the big old Canada yet, I will wait.

    • krismoconnor October 6, 2010 at 12:59 pm #

      Rita – Thanks so much for posting! You are my FIRST – so we are now bonded 😉 Holy crap is right – I was soooooooo excited! I think the difference is my endurance. I didn’t have to rest very much, so I got to squeeze in those extra rounds – woot!

      I don’t do “real” CrossFit – I don’t want to compete with others and mark my stuff on a whiteboard LOL. But this is the first real benchmark I’ve done, so it is very rewarding!

      Thanks again for reading and posting ~ Kris

  2. Suzanne @WorkoutNirvana October 13, 2010 at 8:13 pm #

    Hey Kris,
    Enjoyed the Sears chat with you tonight. So Crossfit sounds like a nice way to mix things up. How do you do pull ups with bands? I’m hell bent on pull ups and like the idea of a little assistance this way. Thanks!
    Suzanne

    • krismoconnor October 14, 2010 at 7:52 am #

      Hi Suzanne,
      Thanks so much for stopping by! We have these giant rubber bands – they come in different colors at different resistances. I’m a green girl (hehehe). It basically gets looped/hooked over the bar and I put my foot in it. It allows me to do pull ups! I have totally gotten stronger using the bands because its such a great exercise, even with help, and I can get some reps in for this key move.

      Here’s a demo of using the band for an assisted pull up – he’s using 2 – I use one.

      Here’s a demo of jumping to a pull up that also helps assist a pull up

      Here’s a great modified pull up using a lower bar – I love these too!

      Here are the bands that look close to what I use (I weigh 120 and am decently strong and use the green band)

      Thanks again!
      Kris

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Lucky Day – 300′s Designed Just for Me…. « The Heart & Humor of Being Human - October 6, 2010

    […] and Sonjia was planning on doing a 300 workout today. My chest and back are fairly tired from Cindy, so we quickly devised a lower-body heavy […]

  2. Recovering From a Low Back Injury – Patience and Perseverance « The Heart & Humor of Being Human - April 28, 2011

    […] was all SHOCKING to me because I considered myself functionally fit:  2 minute plank, 18 cindy’s in 20 minutes (that’s 180 pushups). My fitness program focused on overall strength/body/core […]

  3. 20 Minute Playground Workout | My Modified Cindy « The Heart & Humor of Being Human - June 1, 2011

    […] routine – one that let’s us gauge our progress over time. And yes, within a month my Cindy improved! I can’t do pull ups at home (sigh), but I finally figured out how to do a Cindy at our local […]

  4. Recovering From a Low Back Injury – Patience and Perseverance - The Heart & Humor of Being Human - June 3, 2011

    […] was all SHOCKING to me because I considered myself functionally fit:  2 minute plank, 18 cindy’s in 20 minutes (that’s 180 pushups). My fitness program focused on overall strength/body/core […]

Leave a Reply

