Alive, Alive – I Want To Get Up and Jive

15 Sep

I wanna be strong, I wanna laugh along, I wanna belong to the living….. Joni Mitchell

I’m a late bloomer. Blue was not my first exposure to Joni Mitchell. But when I discovered it – during one of the most tumultuous times in my life – it was pure soul medicine. The hopeful and painfully honest lyrics – that so perfectly describe both fragile and loving connections – touched my heart. And all these years later, I can sing through the entire album and not miss a lyric. I’m particularly fond of the whimsical references to shampoo and juke box dives in this one.

I’m sure this will be one of many Joni posts….

Do any of your chapters include Joni poetry?

7 Responses to “Alive, Alive – I Want To Get Up and Jive”

  1. Greta October 15, 2010 at 5:32 pm #

    I hate you some, I hate you some, I love you some when I forget about me.

    do you want to take a chance on maybe finding some sweet romance with me baby….

    Sigh. Joni!!

    • krismoconnor October 15, 2010 at 5:37 pm #

      What else is there, but to sigh???

      Brilliant!

      Thanks so much Greta – have a great weekend turning up the tunes 😉

  2. Bruce Sallan November 8, 2010 at 9:34 am #

    I discovered “Blue” in college and played that album till it was literally worn out! I still love it!

    • Kris O'Connor @Krazy_Kris November 8, 2010 at 7:15 pm #

      Sigh… what’s not to love… it reminds me, I must get more Joni on my iPod ~~ thanks for the reminder Bruce!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Alive, Alive – I Want To Get Up and Jive « The Heart & Humor of Being Human -- Topsy.com - September 30, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Kris O'Connor, Kris O'Connor. Kris O'Connor said: Anyone out there with a close connection to Joni Mitchell's Blue? http://ow.ly/2M6Rb […]

  2. Quick Poll: Do You Listen to Music at Work? « The Heart & Humor of Being Human - November 19, 2010

    […] Alive, Alive, I Want to Get Up and Jive […]

  3. Buena Vista Social Club: Chan Chan | Music Monday - The Heart & Humor of Being Human - May 31, 2011

    […] Alive, Alive, I Want to Get Up and Jive (All I Want – Joni Mitchell) […]

Leave a Reply

