20 Minute Cardio Quickie (So To Speak)

14 Sep

I’m not a cardio fan. I’m a wimp both mentally and physically and have a ridiculously short attention span. I like weights, gadgets and toys though. To me, they are much more interesting and less tedious. I love this type of workout because it tricks me into working harder than I normally would. Plus it requires very little counting.

In 20 minutes, I was dripping sweat – so in my book, that totally counts.

Warm Up (3 sets, 10 reps each)

  1. Push ups
  2. Old school sit ups
  3. No weight squats

Workout (3 sets, 1 min each, no rest between exercises, 1 min rest between sets – and don’t be fooled my friends, a minute is a long time)

  1. Kettlebell swings
  2. Lunges with medicine ball/chop
  3. Plank (sigh….)
  4. Single leg squats (on my back porch step) with shoulder press (switch sides after 30 seconds)
  5. Speed skaters (with medicine ball)

Final Interval – Tabata (20 seconds SPRINT, 10 seconds rest, repeat for 4 minutes total)

  1. Mountain climbers on ground

If you’ve got 20 minutes to work out, what is your favorite?

3 Responses to “20 Minute Cardio Quickie (So To Speak)”

  1. Tony DiLorenzo | Fit Marriage October 25, 2010 at 9:17 pm #

    Warm-Up
    1. 1 minute run in place
    2. 50 Wide High Knees
    3. 40 Jumping Jacks
    4. 10 Body Weight Squats

    Workout (2 Sets)
    40 Lateral Lunges
    45 sec Chair Pose
    40 Hindu Squats
    40 Upright Twisting Cruches
    60 Bicycle Kicks
    10 Narrow Push-Ups
    20 sec Child Pose
    10 Wide Push-Ups
    4 Superman’s

    Cool Down
    1 minute walk in place

    Been doing this for years and is still a good one to get me going when I don’t have a lot of time.

    • krismoconnor October 25, 2010 at 9:42 pm #

      love Love LOVE this kind of workout! Full body, functional, resistance & cardio – have you been talking to my trainer? LOL
      Thanks Tony for stopping by & commenting 😉

      PS What’s a hindu squat & chair pose?

      • Tony DiLorenzo | Fit Marriage October 25, 2010 at 9:46 pm #

        I get that question a lot about the Hindu Squat. Check out this video of me doing one, http://www.fitmarriage.com/how-to-videos.

        A Chair Pose is when you get in a squat position, hands in prayer position and hold. It is a static position that burns the quads.

        Enjoy and let me know what you think when you do it.

Leave a Reply

